Beer Revisited

Well, I’ve frogged the goat and have switched the colours around, and it’s looking good!  (Frogged the goat…now there’s a phrase I never would have predicted writing…)

After my adventure with the strange beers at the market, kidlet was quite miffed with me for not grabbing those strangely named brews for her bottle collection.  She has a shelf of unusual bottles on display in her room.  Empty, of course.  As I hear her sighing “Sure, Mom…”

So when I made the next shopping trip, I went and bought the three Belgian beers (the two Deliriums and the Guillotine) for her.  I threw in a bottle from the British shelf as well, Dr. Thirsty’s No.4 Blonde.

dr thirsty

The good doctor looks a little… iffy to me… Arrrr.   I just hope the beer is good.

So far we’ve sampled La Guillotine.  I used it to cook chicken with, a good variation on our normal chicken dishes.  The dish came out a little bitter.  I like bitter beer, but this one may not have been the best choice for this meal.  It was still tasty, though.

We have yet to check out the rest of the beers.  I have to persuade myself to try a little Delirium.  (And there’s another sentence I never would have predicted writing…I’m on a roll)

If you’re interested in a basic recipe for beer-cooked chicken, here it is:

  • 1 bottle/can beer (12 oz/ /.34 liter)  Not bitter.  lol
  • 4 skinless boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 Tbsp margarine
  • 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, crushed
  1. Marinate: Pour 1/2 of the beer into a nonporous glass dish or bowl. Add chicken breasts, toss to coat, cover dish and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to marinate.
  2. Melt 1 tablespoon of the margarine (you can use butter if you don’t keep kosher) in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and mushrooms and saute for 5 to 10 minutes or until cooked; remove from skillet and reserve, keeping warm.
  3. Melt remaining 1 tablespoon margarine in skillet over medium high heat and add chicken. Saute 5 to 6 minutes each side or until cooked through and juices run clear. Reduce heat to low, pour remaining beer over chicken and add reserved garlic and mushrooms. Cover skillet and let simmer for 5 to 10 minutes. If desired, add a little flour to thicken the sauce.  (Again if you don’t keep kosher, you can sprinkle with parmesan cheese before you…)
  4. Serve.

It goes really well with pasta.

Bon Apetit!

And now back to the goat.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

