Baffled by Belgian Beer

The weekly grocery shopping trip.  Done after planning the menus for the week, doing a cupboard-and-fridge inventory and making a detailed list.  Asking kidlet for her list.   Hopefully finding and checking the coupons that I never seem to have with me at the right time.

Arrive at the market, check out the current specials and bargains.  Rejoice if one of the specials actually corresponds with something on the list.

OK.  I have a confession to make.  I’m one of those very annoying people who has to go through every aisle and look at every shelf.   Even when I have a specific list and nothing on it is on a particular shelf or in a particular aisle, I will still check out that shelf or that aisle.  Not only in the grocery store, I do it everywhere – bookshops, department stores, drugstores, hardware stores, you name it.  (We won’t even mention yarn shops…)  I have found some of the most amazing things and some of my greatest inspirations that way, but it drives partner absolutely bonkers.  She is more of the “go in-get what you need-get out” sort of person.

We try not to shop together.

(Except in IKEA.  She likes checking out everything there too.  Just at a different pace than me, but never mind..) And we can have lunch in the middle of it all.)

Anyway, today at the grocery store they were having an international beer fest, featuring ales and lagers from all over the world.  I didn’t have beer on my list, but I enjoyed perusing all the unfamiliar brands, wondering what they all taste like.   Then the Belgian shelf stopped me cold.

Beer Shopping

The St. Bernardus beers seem simple enough, prior and abt (abbot?) are appropriate names for the brand picture.  The first one I’m not sure about…a beer called “Wit” ?  I suppose that’s what you think you have after drinking one or two or more bottles of this ale…   Hm?

Then we get to Delirium Nocturnum.  Really?  Night terrors/dementia?  As the name of a beer?  With a scared-looking pink baby elephant on the bottle?  (Pink elephant?  Hey, I get it!  head::desk)  Humour aside, my jaw dropped.  My gob has been smacked.  I suppose that it’s better than Delirium Tremens down at the end of the shelf.  Why in the blue blazes would you name a beer that?  Delirium tremens = the DTs = severe alcohol withdrawal syndrome.  Yeah, just what I want to think about when I’m having a brew.  Can you imagine ordering it?  “Yeah, I’ll have a Delirium Tremens!”

The medical definition of delirium is acute brain failure.  This may be taking truth in advertising a little too far.

And then there’s the one between the two deliriums (deliria?).  La Guillotine.  With a picture of one and an open, waiting box beside it.

OK, I don’t even want to think about the rationale behind that name.

This may be a cultural difference kind of thing.  This company board or whoever simply may have a really dark sense of humour.  I’m sure they’re terrific beers.  And I like dark humour and good beer.

I didn’t buy any, though.

Would you?

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Baffled by Belgian Beer”

  1. feelgoodknitting Says:

    I think I might avoid those names too! I like humor in my product names, generally, but that’s not quite my brand of humor. I do generally like Belgian beers though!

  2. knitredchocolatebookcat Says:

    Haha!
    Of course I would buy at least one of them. I am really curious now how they taste.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      My kid is furious I didn’t buy them, she collects bottles and wants them now… I may have to go back and buy a couple.

Leave a Reply

