Mirror, mirror, how I knit you

I have become a definite fan of double knitting.  For those of you who haven’t yet experienced this fun technique, it’s basically knitting a two-sided fabric, with a stockinette face on each side, and knitting both sides simultaneously.  Well, yeah, that was clear as mud.

Anyway, it’s a technique with colour that knits a mirrored image on the opposite side.  It’s fun for me because there is no wrong side, and no loose yarn ends to weave in, doesn’t pucker like stranded colourwork can, and is great fun.

Back in 2010, Marielle sent me a double knitted hamsa in a swap:

hamsa-cloth-1  hamsa-cloth-2

 

See the mirrored colours?

I’ve wanted to learn this technique ever since, and finally grabbed my chance.  A friend was expecting her first grandbaby, and I wanted to knit something special.  So I downloaded a chart for the Babydecke blanket, watched some tutorials on youtube, and took the plunge.  And this was the result:

BabyEkstein FO1 BabyEkstein FO2

 

Nothing like jumping right into the deep end!  By the time I was finished with this, I think I had learned to correct all possible double knitting mistakes and felt ready to tackle anything!  I made it easier by creating an excel chart with the stitch counts.

Oh, I had some yarn left over so quickly knitted up some booties for the baby as well…every baby needs a pair of converse, no?

allstars FO 1

 

But back to double knitting…

At the annual Yarn & Falafel Fiber Fest, the blanket won a prize, voted on by those who attended.  I was pleased as punch.

I was also asked to give a workshop on double knitting at the gathering.  I wanted to show different edging techniques in double knitting, so I knitted up a Hufflepuff bookmark to show a different style with an invisible edge:

hufflepuff 1 hufflepuff 2

 

I also wanted to teach the workshop using a simple project that everyone could do to learn with.  I looked around on Ravelry, but didn’t find exactly what I wanted.  So I made a few swatches, wrote up a quick pattern, and taught the workshop using this coaster pattern:

HotCuppa1

It was a hit, so I wrote it up nicely, added a tutorial, and published it on Ravelry.  And to my delight, within three weeks it was chosen as a KAL in two different groups!  So far 20 projects and counting…

It’s a free pattern, with a link below and on my pattern page.  The tutorial is all on one page, so if you already know how to double knit, just ignore that page.  The chart is also written up separately with stitch counts included, for those who hate charts.

My next step will be learning to double knit with different images on each side…

Now knit yourself a coaster in your favourite colours, make yourself a hot cuppa, and enjoy!

HotCuppa2

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Mirror, mirror, how I knit you”

  1. feelgoodknitting Says:

    What a cool technique! LOVE the blanket.

Leave a Reply

