Books – the only things you buy that make you richer

Well, there’s been a little housecleaning over here at the blog today.  I finally managed to update my Book Challenge 2013 page.  And I tidied up a wee bit of wonky formatting on a few other pages as well.

I really shouldn’t get behind like that.

Of the 43 books I’ve read so far this year, top ratings (5 stars) so far this year have gone to:

  • Hugh Laurie’s The Gun Seller   I finished it in one night, couldn’t put it down.
  • Rachael Herron’s Life in Stitches (I love her blog, Yarn-A-Go-Go, link over at the right), I was left wanting more.
  • Karen Cantwell’s Chronicles of Marr-nia, wonderful short stories.

And of the cozies:

  • Betty Webb’s   The Anteater of Death
  • Krista Davis’  The Diva Haunts the House
  • Julie Hyzy’s  Affairs of Steak
  • Ellen Byerrum’s  Killer Hair
  • Ellery Adam’s   A Deadly Cliché
  • Jenn McKinlay’s   Red Velvet Revenge
  • Sheila Connolly’s  Monument to the Dead
  • Robin Allen’s  If You Can’t Stand the Heat

One book I tossed into the literary frog pond after struggling through 3 chapters, the writing was so bad.

Another book – Murder Over Easy – I finished (despite incredibly bad editing), but gave it the lowest possible rating.   One star, and if I could have given it zero I would have.  The main character is a woman, but her husband treats her like a silly little girl. which really irritated me.  The mystery itself could have been interesting, but I found the story filled with one-dimensional and horribly stereotyped  or prejudiced characters – which can be a  good thing, if it rounds out the story, if  their prejudice is pointed out or noted by others in the story.  The worst of the premises of the book was the overall assumption that gay = predator.  And the only gay character was the shameful villain who abused young boys.  Not that the author used the word “gay”.  Ever.  Feh.  Zero stars.

Thank goodness most of the books I read deserve a much higher rating!!

So….43 books out of my goal of 52 for the year – and two more months to go.

Think I’ll make it?

oh for a book

 

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Books – the only things you buy that make you richer”

  1. knitredchocolatebookcat Says:

    I hate you.
    I have to go buy more boooks now.
    😛

Leave a Reply

