I’ll remember that, no need to write it down.

Famous last words.

I really should know better.

I have a mystery.

Back in 2010, I received a lovely Chanuka swap package from Marielle in Pennsylvania.  Included in the package was a rainbow skein of Crystal Palace Yarns Mochi Plus.   I fell in love with it.

mocha plus rainbow

I searched for a pattern for it, and found what I thought was the perfect pattern, but one skein wasn’t enough.  So I ordered two more online, so I would have enough to knit this perfect pattern.   The yarn arrived, and I stored it with the first skein, waiting to cast on until after I finished some WIPs.

I reorganised my stash the other day, and noticed the Mochi Plus, still waiting patiently.   (Yes, it has been a little over 2 years.  What’s your point?)  The only problem is… I can’t for the life of me remember what pattern I bought it for.   I have searched my queue, and it seems I neglected to note which pattern I intended this yarn for.  I don’t even know if I actually queued the pattern.   None of the aran weight patterns in my queue jump out as “perfect” for this yarn – and none of them call for the amount of yarn I was careful to order.

Well, piffle.

Looks like  a new pattern search is called for.  Hat.  Spiral/swirl type, maybe?  Cowl.  Some slip-stitch pattern?  Or a wave pattern.  Scarf.  Wavy Baktus could be interesting.  Slipper-socks?  Not the most durable yarn for that.  And not mitts, I already have rainbow mitts, with enough of that yarn left over to make kidlet a pair too.

The rainbow yarn is stunning with a solid colour for a stained glass effect.  Or alternating stripes.  But that would mean buying more yarn.

I see this will take some time.  I wonder if I’ll ever remember what I wanted this for in the first place.

Note to self:    Next time, write it down!!!  And in a place you’ll find it again.  (I’m having a spell of all kinds of things going missing.  Where nothing is where I put it, or thought I put it.  Where I was sure I put it.   But that’s another story.)

Any ideas??

HeadScratchingCartoon

 

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “I’ll remember that, no need to write it down.”

  1. Henya Says:

    Been there!!! So many, many times been there!!! I hope you will find a perfect pattern.

  2. knitredchocolatebookcat Says:

    Oh yes. All the time. I am the worst at this.
    And this is why I must stop buying yarn and just find patterns for all the yarn I got already.

  3. feelgoodknitting Says:

    Oh man, I write *everything* down. And then I forget where I wrote it. At least I know my memory is worthless? 😉

Leave a Reply

