And a-yin, and a-yang

Today was one of those days.  One step forward, three steps back.  By afternoon, I had a very short fuse.  But then things started to get better.

Today was my last session of Tui Na.  The doctor wants to move on to more tests and perhaps talk about surgery, and while the Chinese massage is a real treat, it’s not helping against the pain as much as we hoped.   I finished with the acupuncture a while ago, but kept on with the massage a little longer.

I never connected much with the acupuncturist, but Michael – the Tui Na massage therapist – and I have had lots of long conversations, about everything under the sun, not just pain treatment.  He has studied Chinese medicine for several years, and is continuing to study.  We talk about cooking, colours, motorcycles, whatever.  Since he always sees me knitting while waiting for my sessions, he asks about all my projects.   He is also knitting a  scarf, but doesn’t have much time to work on it.  I think he’s been working on the same scarf for all the months I’ve been going to treatments with him.

Since today was the last treatment, I knitted him a little gift – a key chain for his work.

keychain1     keychain2

He was quite thrilled with it.

I made it up as I went along, using Judy’s magic cast-on for toe up socks and knitting it with magic loop, slipping the first stitch on each half on every odd row to make a flatter edge.  I used this yin/yang chart for the pattern.  I am not happy with the finishing, and wish I had done it differently. perhaps double knitting would have been better, with the design on both sides.  Kidlet loves it, and wants me to make one for her, so I may play with it.  If I work out something I like more, I’ll put up the pattern here!

Finished the day on the best note possible, with Stitch-n-Bitch night!

snb 9 apr 13

Thanks, ladies, you made the day worthwhile.

 

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “And a-yin, and a-yang”

  1. knitredchocolatebookcat Says:

    That evening was great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

