See Chana read. Read, Chana, read.

Well, I have finally updated my book pages.  Hadn’t touched them in a while….

stair books

Click on over and check them out!

I did not meet my reading challenge for 2012.  Finished 37 books and I was going for 52 (one a week).  When life thows a curve ball, it knocks you over in just about every area.  So…

On to 2013.  Still challenging myself to one book a week.  I’ve finished 11 so far.  21% through.  That’s 2 books (11%) behind schedule, but I’m not too worried.  I should make it up.  And don’t say “famous last words”, please!!!

All of the books this year have been cozy mysteries, with the exception of J.K.Rowling’s Casual Vacancy.  And one non-fiction I’m reading now, so it’s not yet on the finished list.  Most of them I’ve rated highly, although if I can figure out the villain/killer before the main character does I usually take off a point.  Well, except for those books where you know who the bad guy is from the beginning.

mystery books

Almost all of the books are on the Kindle, but I still do have a pile of unread paperbacks to get through.  Lots of Kindle cozies (and other genres as well) are offered briefly for free as a bonus to get to know various authors, so I watch for those.  It’s a plus to download books instantly.  Not to mention how good it is to buy books when there’s no more shelf space…..(that doesn’t always stop me in a bookstore, however…*ahem*).

gibberish

There have a been a few books – very few, thankfully – that have been tossed unfinished into the literary frog pond.  If it’s a chore or a struggle to read, I’m not going to waste my time.  Life is too short to read books you don’t enjoy (or knit with yarn you don’t like…).

And a very few books have truly transported me into vast and wonderful worlds where I would love to stay longer.

coping

 

On to meet the challenge!

superpower

Nu?  Read any good books lately?

 

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “See Chana read. Read, Chana, read.”

  1. knitredchocolatebookcat Says:

    Hmm – so which are the books that “truly transported me into vast and wonderful worlds where I would love to stay longer” ?

    I am still reading the fantasy series “The Wheel of Time” . I enjoy it very much , and that’s an understatement. ^_^ I have just started book 11 in the series. 2 more to go after that.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Hard to do with murder mysteries, actually. Although there are cozy authors, like Julie Hyzy, who create or describe worlds that you want to hang around in and explore more.

  2. Esther Says:

    What did you think of The Casual Vacancy? It took a while for me to get into it but I love her characters. She made me cry at the end, as usual, and I gave it 5 stars.
    Also seconding knitred’s request to know which books.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I was intrigued with the totally different style of writing. And excellent writing, which we’ve come to expect from her, no disappointment there at all! While she covered a whole range of human experience, and showed that all of us have both positive and negative facets and characteristics, I found that while I stayed interested, I didn’t really totally like any of the characters. I gave it 4 stars.

Leave a Reply

