Counting…one two three…

It’s not like I don’t have row counters for my knitting projects.  I do.  But for a while now I have been intrigued by the bracelet/ abacus row counters that I’ve seen around.  There are different styles, like the ablet, or the ring marker type, like here or here.

Then I found a tutorial to make them.  And I haven’t done any beading for a long time.  So I dug out my beads and tools and got to work.

The concept is simple.  The tens are on one row.

And the ones are on another.

The big bead shows which end you start from.

There’s a stretchy little ring that you slide the beads through as you count the rows.  You slide one of the small beads across to the end as you finish each row.  After you slide the nine little beads across, for the next row you slide one of the big “ten” beads across and return the little ones to the beginning.

This shows 14 rows done:

This shows 56:

And it’s easily kept on the wrist, accessible yet out of the way while knitting, and it’s not just put down and lost.

This bracelet, according to the tutorial,  goes to 99.  Actually, since I put 10 “tens” on, it goes to 109.  So somebody’s math is off.  But I really don’t think it matters.  As long as it works.

I’m so pleased with the way this turned out!

Kidlet wanted to swipe it just to wear as a bracelet…

Sorry, kiddo, no way.

I may well make more of these, experiment a bit with bead combinations.  They may even make their way to Etsy.  Or at least to the Yarn & Falafel gathering next month.  ‘Twas fun to work with beads again.

One more addition to the knitting notions collection!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Counting…one two three…”

  1. Roberta Says:

    Oh yes.. definitely make some for the Big Meeting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

