Starting to feel human again

Had the tooth pulled last week.  The same one that’s been giving me trouble since September.  It got complicated, and the oral surgeon had to start cutting.  Ick.   He then stitched up the gum, and warned me that the stitches would bother me, probably stab my tongue a lot and it would be very sore.  Unfortunately, he was right.   Damn, the one time I wish that he didn’t know what he was talking about…

Painkillers, antibiotics, steroids for the swelling, and stuff to wash my mouth out with that burned like crazy.  Nothing hot allowed, only cold soft food (chewed on the other side, of course).  That got boring very fast.

I was supposed to rest, but it’s crazy busy at work right now, so I didn’t take any time off.    Not much sleep.  No time for knitting, blogging, web surfing.  And no hot tea.    Or soup, which I love in winter.  Made me a very nasty person.  Still visited kidlet, of course, where I tried to contain the crankiness to a minimum.

We had guests from London for the weekend, and I enjoyed their company, although part of the time I simply excused myself and slept.  I’m afraid I didn’t supply any sparkling conversation or wit, but at least I was civil.

Finally got the stitches out, not without a glitch or two, and the pain has mostly gone away.  I’m feeling optimistic that I can join the human race once again.    Maybe even get to Stitch-n-Bitch.   Friends, food, knitting.   Oh, yes.  And I will try to refrain from biting anyone’s head off.

It’s Benjamin Franklin’s birthday today, which should inspire me to invent something…  Like something to cover stitches with that won’t interfere with the healing but will protect one from the jabbing.  Kinda like chewing gum that will soften the sharp edges but won’t get all stuck.  Hm.

He doesn’t look too impressed with my idea, does he?

“Remember not only to say the right thing in the right place, but far more difficult still, to leave unsaid the wrong thing at the tempting moment.”       — Benjamin Franklin

Wise move, Ben.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

