Alas! Neglected Damsel

Neglected in that I haven’t written a word about it!  It being my wonderful December package from the Smart Ass Knitters World Domination Club.

First off, let me say that I have long coveted Indigodragonfly’s DK Polwarth Silk yarn (75% polwarth wool/25% silk).  Especially since Glenna C. designed her Stage Door Cardigan for the yarn’s debut.

photo by crazyknittinglady

(A double whammy, since I also covet this pattern…)

But the yarn was, unfortunately, over my yarn budget.  Then the club package arrived…

Imagine my delight when my eyes beheld a magnificent 250 grams of Polwarth Silk!

The colour is called Young Helpless Damsels in Damp Climates – here’s an excerpt from the colour story:

… Cut to: A grim English morning.  Revenge upon sisters, an amateur philatelist, and on the porch, the discovery of a dead Jack Snipe.  What can all this mean?  Political intrigue, theft, Chemistry 101, and a particularly nasty ending in a nondescript cucumber patch. …

And along with this treat, a shawl pattern by Glenna C. called Flavia!

Flavia de Luce, the young amateur detective in Alan Bradley’s series of novels, definitely keeps busy.  If, like her, your day takes you anywhere from your own home chemistry lab, to cycling into town in investigate clues, to negotiating conversations with overly-curious librarians, well…you’d better at least have a comfortable shawl to throw around you while you’re doing it.

So.  Coveted yarn, a pattern by a fantastic designer, and all wrapped up in a mystery theme!!!  What more could I ask for?

Wait, there was more.  A wonderful little splityarn notions bag by Canadian artisan Caro Sheridan.

Partner liked the card inside the bag, which describes splityarn as

handmade goods for knitters and normal people

Ha.  I like the distinction as well.

I’m itching to cast on for Flavia with this yarn, but I am determined to finish some of the WIPs first.  Which include two other Indigodragonfly projects already on the needles.

Now if only I can find some decent knitting time….

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

