Screwdrivers? Check. Hammer? Check.

I really needed some different storage in my room.  Had lots of shelves, but I decided drawers would be a better solution.  So earlier this week, after visiting kidlet, partner and I headed off to IKEA.

The store that burned down last year is almost but not quite yet ready to open, so we had to travel a bit more to a branch we hadn’t yet visited.  Plans are in the making to build another branch in the north, very close to us…uh oh.

I took my crutches, as I was worried that the long long walk through the store would cause too much pain in the hip.  But lo and behold, when we came through the entrance there were little scooters for customers to use!  A fantastic idea, I quickly signed for one.  Small enough to fit through all the aisles in the departments, they go forward and backward and turn sharply.

It didn’t take long for me to get the hang of the controls, although partner almost got run over a couple of times in the beginning.  And I do have to admit, the attempt at a Y-turn in the elevator was not terribly successful, except as a source of entertainment for partner, who was laughing so hard at my bouncing around she almost didn’t get out of the way in time.  But soon I was zipping along, eager to see everything, while partner tried to keep up.  (Serves her right for laughing….)

We stopped for a meal midway through, as usual.  Tried the Swedish meatballs this time, nice gravy but no lingonberries, which was a shame.

We ended up buying drawers for both of us, and I grabbed a table as well.  And we both got a few odds and ends.  That always happens….

At home, I built the table first.

You know how in the instructions they always list how many of each item you should have?  Like 48 screws this size and 20 this size, etc.  OK, so I’m weird, but I always open everything and count them all first.  I’ve never been short anything, but still.

Had a bit of a scare when in the midst of counting out fortysomething little plastic bits the cat leaped onto the table and scattered them all.  I shrieked, she fled, and then we managed to arrive at a mutually agreeable arrangement.  I worked on the furniture, and she played with the box.

She really got into it, too…

I had all the pieces lined up, all the tools at hand, old rug on the floor to cushion it…

Did the drawers first, even though the instructions start with the chest.  I just wanted to get them out of the way, that seemed so much more reasonable.  I figured that the big effort would be the main piece, and I wouldn’t want to do anything else after that.

Finally finished, and I’ve started to move things around and organise the room the way I want it.

Of course, now partner has decided that I should do hers as well.

Not tonight.  I love DIY stuff like this, but enough already for one day.

And I really want one of those scooters.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Screwdrivers? Check. Hammer? Check.”

  1. Courtney Says:

    You’re wise to count first, actually. My very first IKEA experience was in Boston a month or so before we moved to Israel (where we furnished our entire apartment from IKEA). We got a dresser for my sister and had to make THREE return trips to IKEA to get missing or non-broken pieces. The fourth return trip was prevented by duct tape. I was terrified assembling all our furniture in Israel but fortunately we didn’t have any problems!

    I’m currently coveting an IKEA storage unit with pretty baskets to hold all my yarn in. Next move!

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Only one of the large screws was bent out of shape. Since they don’t provide any extras I had to bend it back, which was a little iffy. But it worked in the end.

      There are some lovely baskets there. I use the plastic bins from IKEA to store my yarn. The yarn is protected and I can see what’s inside.

  2. Robin L. Zalben Says:

    Recently assembled that exact same dresser, and desk too! My hubby was going to do the dresser, but after taking pieces out of the box and looking at the manual, he gave up quickly.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Aw, come on, it wasn’t that hard! lol Although the desk had instructions that were a little more detailed, and the drawer construction was pretty much the same, so the fact I did that first did make it easier.

  3. Roberta Says:

    You should have called me , I love to do the DIY stuff too!

    I need some more storage for my yarn too, but I am not too keen of driving that far again… hmmm…

  4. Esther Says:

    This looks like so much fun! My Mum has undergone a knee replacement and she would love to race one of those scooters round Ikea.
    I’m so glad there rebuilding the one in Netanya I couldn’t face the hike down to Rishon.

Leave a Reply

