The important meal

No, not Thanksgiving dinner.  Hope all my American friends had a great holiday.

I’m talking about the most important meal of the day, according to the experts.  My dietician insists I eat something within 1/2 hour after getting up in the morning.  This used to mean a couple of crackers with cheese and some veggies as a quick bite before (or as) I head out the door at 6am.   If I’m running really late, a granola energy bar has to do.

Unfortunately, for the past couple of months I haven’t been able to eat crackers or granola bars – too hard on the jaw.   The dentist insists I stay on a soft diet for at least another month, which I am quite happy to do because I’m not a great fan of pain.  So I’ve been grabbing a piece of fruit.  (Soft fruit like bananas, not hard fruit like apples….)

Now, thanks to Brit Morin’s blog, I have a new option – breakfast muffins!

Just pour egg into a greased cupcake pan, then add toppings – like mushrooms, cheese, veggies, meat, turkey. Bake them in the oven at 375-degrees for 30 minutes and let them cool. Pop them into plastic bags so that you can grab them easily in the morning.

I think a couple of these would make a fantabulous breakfast.  Not every morning, I don’t eat that many eggs per week.  But a few times?  Why on earth didn’t I think of this before?

Yum.

What are your best time-saving meals?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The important meal”

  1. 2014 Oscar Party Recipes | I Am Not the Babysitter Says:

    […] Philomena really loves a good omelet. Give your guests a mini omelet bar. Pour beaten egg into cupcake pan and allow guests to choose mini omelet fillings/toppings. Bake for 30 minutes at 375 degrees for perfect mini omelets! Recipe here. […]

  2. What We're Loving for Breakfast - The Most Important Meal of the Day (The Motherhood) Says:

    […] With the help of the internet, I’ve found many options for make-ahead breakfasts, but these yummy muffins are, by far, my absolute favorite! Though the recipe calls for egg beaters, it’s just as easy […]

Leave a Reply

