Eek! It’s Red Scarf Time Again!

What with all the chaos in my life lately, I totally forgot about the Red Scarf Project!  This year, the submissions are from September 1, 2011 through December 15, 2011…which gives me a little time.  But not much.  Egads.  (Although it does seem to me that I do tend to remember in November, not in September….)

My 2009 project is blogged here, and the 2010 project is here.

My 2009 pattern was the Yarn Harlot’s One-Row Handspun Scarf

Last year I knit the Palindrome.

My criteria are once again unisex, reversible, and quick.  I’m not even going with cables this year, I’ve decided to knit the Lazy River Scarf, by That Crafty Mom.  Looks great, textured, and super easy.  I’m debating whether or not to use yarn in my stash, or to pick some up this week.  I do have some red Novita 7 Veljestä, plenty to make a scarf.  I’ll cast on with it tonight, and see if I like it for this pattern.

Working on the Reunion cowl, I have had to switch row counters and stitch marker.  I was using my row counter from chickenstitches, which does double duty as a stitchmarker, so is connected to the project all the time – a no-brainer.

But the lace yarn is so fine the weight of the row counter was really dragging on it, and as much as I tried to knit tightly at the end of the round, I was getting a ladder…so I switched to a regular lightweight marker.

I’m hoping the ladder will block out.   As well as a few “features” that really shouldn’t occur in a simple garter stitch but due to bad lighting on the commute have appeared in a very sneaky fashion. (*cough, cough*)

And now I’m using my Kacha Kacha, which is fine but it isn’t connected to the project.   It’s separate in the project bag, now I just have to remember to click the darn thing at the end of the round.

My biggest problem with the Kacha Kacha used to be that it would get clicked in transit if something pressed against the project bag in my knitting bag or backpack – which can cause all kinds of messes in the knitting!  So one of the fellows at work (who by the way learned to knit from his father) took it off to the workshop and cut out a rubber gizmo that fits it exactly.

When I’m not using the counter, I slip the gizmo on and it locks the clicker in place!

Very handy.  (Thanks, Haim.)

In my business meeting the other day that included the massage, I managed to knit quite a bit, and got several people interested.  One young woman sat by me, fascinated, and asked me to show her how to knit.  She got a brief lesson, but I directed her to KnittingHelp.com, and to Ravelry, of  course.    Several other women began reminiscing about how they used to knit but hadn’t in a long while.  One told me she was totally inspired by my project, and she is determined to begin again.  I directed her to Ravelry as well, and told her to hook up with the Yarn and Falafel group.  I hope to see her there!!!   (No, I didn’t knit during the massage.  I was too relaxed, and besides, I didn’t want to get hot scented oil on the silk yarn.  Duh.)

So…..who’s joining me in knitting a red scarf this year??

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Eek! It’s Red Scarf Time Again!”

  1. Courtney Says:

    Not me. I’m slowly knitting myself a teal (with purple highlights – sounds disgusting but it’s beautiful) scarf (Aria Delicato by Anne Hanson). Only about 35 more pattern repeats until I’m done.

    I’d love to do the Red Scarf project someday. Maybe when I don’t have small children. Also thanks for reminding me to hope that I move to a colder climate next time so I can knit palindrome – I love that scarf. Yours was gorgeous. I’m sure some lucky college kid really appreciates it.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Beautiful scarf! But then, I like most of the Knitspot patterns. 🙂 I have lots of WIPs that are going slowly. Very. Maybe I need more deadlines?

  2. Roberta Says:

    Oh… I wish you have told me sooner.
    I don’t think I can squeeze in another scarf now (with the KAL, swap and whatnot going on at the moment).
    But next year I want to join you – we have to put a reminder somewhere…earlier than November 🙂

Leave a Reply

