Knitting Art

I recently discovered the art of Rania Hassan,  a graphic designer, painter and illustrator. She was born in New York City and grew up traveling the world, always with a sketchbook in her pocket. Rania now calls Washington DC home.  She spends all of her time working on new illustrations which she screenprints onto notebooks. And when she’s not doing that, she’s either knitting, or painting, or combining the two in her artwork.

From her website:

I am fascinated by the connections we find in our everyday experiences.
How do we think of our place in this world? How do we fit in it?

Knit Circle

This series started because of my fascination with knitting, love for painting, and intrigue in the community I’ve found online with knitters from around the world. I think about how it links me to my mother, her mother, and all the generations of women who came before them.

Drop Stitch

The fingers in the pieces are my own, and the knitting is all free formed while in transit.

Ktog

In the needle, yarn and finger movements, I explain how the act of knitting connects us to our community and generations past.

In Rania’s blog, goshdarnknit, there are more details about events and exhibitions, a shop to buy some of her work, and more.    (She’s also goshdarnknit on Ravelry.)

Her illustrations and artwork have appeared in publications such as HOW Magazine, Venus Zine, and web sites such as Daily Candy.

I love the simplicity of her work, and the inspiration behind it.

Anchored II

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

