Cowls are big. Way big.

I love knitting cowls, and I love wearing them.  They make wonderful gifts.  And they’ve really been in fashion the past couple of years.  But not so much in “Fashion”.  Not Haute Couture, darling, don’t you know?

                             

But now they seem to have hit the high fashion world.  I’ve blogged about knitting in the world of fashion before.  Last time, I believe it was “Unfinished Knitting”, in which the knitting needles were left in the knitting – scarves, hats, etc.    Now it seems the big thing is cowls.

Did I say big???     Huge.    Humongous.    Giant.  Enormous.

Help.

I can’t imagine knitting these, let alone wearing them.  First of all, I don’t have needles the size of baseball bats.  And I’ve not seen yarn that thick in any of my yarn shops.   It gives new meaning to the weight “bulky”.    It also looks like both hands would be needed to wrap the yarn – would that make it English-Continental method?   The weight would definitely wreak havoc with my Carpal Tunnel Syndrome.  And I don’t really like pompoms of any size, but making a bunch almost the size of my head gives me the willies just thinking about it.

None of the models look happy – on the contrary, they look pretty miserable.  it can’t be comfortable carrying that weight on your shoulders/upper body.   Not to mention the temperature.  Those things would give hot flashes to women of any age.  (I’m not even mentioning the one on the bottom having the bad hair day.  What are those, anyway – twigs????  Tumbleweed???)

As an afterthought, what on earth are they wearing underneath all the knitted glory?  Granted, it’s pretty much overpowered, but good grief.  Ew.

Maybe they’re not meant to be cowls.  Maybe they’re scarves gone wild.  Or maybe the new idea is to wear your favourite blanket out on the town.    Right now I’ve got Mary Travers in my head singing “I’m being swallowed by a boa constrictor…”

The yarn does look luscious though.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Cowls are big. Way big.”

  1. Roberta Says:

    Speechless
    But laughing on the inside!

  2. Sharon Says:

    you call that “yarn”? i call it “soft ropes”…

    • eclecticitee Says:

      It almost looks like they knitted with huge hunks of roving. I can’t see spinning yarn that thick…50-ply?

  3. Melissa Zeffer Says:

    hahaha. Love this post! I wish I could get my hands on that yarn for an afghan! Maybe I would actually be able to finish one for once!

Leave a Reply

