The Last…and the First

The notice for the very last package I received in the old flat arrived in my mailbox the day before I had to hand over the keys…

It was my ABC swap package from Tina in Canada, sent in June!  Methinks it swam.  Slowly.

Tina sent me a wonderful package of things with a “P”, here shown on the backdrop of my latest furniture style – boxes.

There are Peanuts, Popcorn and Popcorn seasoning, Pens and Pencils, Peppermint tea, a Peace Pendant, Reeses Pieces, Pink Patons yarn and Pink highlighter, Purple Koolaid, Purple buttons, and a Purple fairy ornament, a Photo luggage tag and a Photo clip (which kidlet keeps trying to steal), and a Puzzle mystery!

I am opting out of swaps for the time being, since the budget needs to recover from the move, and I have no free time at all.  Knitting continues to be almost at a total standstill, although there’s a rumour floating around that my lovely SnB group is planning to kidnap me for a short time tonight.  And that they plan to make the lost time up to me by helping with the boxes later.  Little do they know that some dastardly dark witch or wizard hit my boxes with the Gemino curse – the more we open, the more they multiply.

Once I had moved, one of the very first things that appeared in my new mailbox was another notice of a package…this one was the August shipment of the Smart-Ass Knitters World Domination Club!

That is luscious Merino/Cashmere/Nylon sock yarn, in the colourway Just Like Mom Used to Kill.   A beautiful sock pattern by Jaya Pirswani called “Charee” (Hindi for “crazy”).    Arty buttons from Bella’s Bazaar.    And one of the buttons from Indigodragonfly’s set of favourite colourways!  Here’s the whole set:

photo by Indigodragonfly

I was originally planning to treat myself to the complete set as a birthday present…but as already mentioned, the move played so much havoc with the bank balance that the plan had to be shelved.   For now.

I still have two club projects on the needles, and the Ironic Hipster hat is even making an itty-bitty tiny bit of progress, so these socks will have to wait.  I still have the Monkey socks to finish as well.  But since this MCN sock yarn is probably my favourite sock yarn to knit with, I won’t put them off for too long.

And I still haven’t found the kettle, dammit.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “The Last…and the First”

  1. Roberta Says:

    So which button did you get? I have “Squid Vicious” – beautiful colors!

    And the yarn is so yummy… oh my…

  2. Roberta Says:

    PS – Sinister Sudoku?????

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Reading it now. It’s a mystery series by Kaye Morgan that involves sudoku puzzles (the main character is a sudoku columnist & expert…)…this is the 3rd book in the series. The first two are Death by Sudoku and Murder by Numbers. The rest of the books in the series are Killer Sudoku, Ghost Sudoku and Celebrity Sudoku.

      When I finish this, if it’s good I’ll lend it to you!

  3. Roberta Says:

    Yey!!! 🙂 More books! 🙂

    I wonder what about “Squid Vicious” – going to search any references…

Leave a Reply

