Multitasking + Knitting projects = Multiknitting??

First, I have to say I’m loving the comments for the contest!  Many thanks to my long-time readers and welcome to the newcomers!   Keep ’em coming!

I am beginning to come to the conclusion that juggling numerous KAL projects is frustrating.  I’ve got three going, and plan to cast on a fourth.   Maybe I should assign each project its day of the week?

The Stricken socks, of course, although very little progress has been made with them.  I’ve just reached the heel on the first sock, which tells me I don’t have much chance of finishing them by the end of the KAL in another two-three weeks.  Part of the problem is the bad match of yarn and pattern.  This yarn, while pretty and soft, has very little twist and is extremely splitty, with colour changes that make reading the pattern hard.   Which would probably work out fine with a straightforward stockinette sock, but with all the cable action going on, it demands total concentration in strong light, so no knitting these on my commute or when I’m the slightest bit tired!

The Monkey socks, on the other hand, are a sheer pleasure!  This is my first experience knitting with Socks That Rock, and oh my.   Despite casting on well after the Strickens, I’ve reached the gusset on the first Monkey.

The Algonquin scarf is almost halfway done.  And I need to cast on for the Ironic Hipster hat.  With the very lovely Yak! Bam! yarn.

One more project has been added as well.  After nieces received their scarves, and grand-nieces their slippers, youngest grand-nephew decided he wanted in on this action too and asked me to knit him a Maccabi Haifa scarf.  (That’s our city’s champion football team – or soccer, if that’s your point of reference.)  His dad and older brother, uncles and cousins are all die-hard fans, so he’s already well indoctrinated.  I headed off to the LYS, where I found gigantic skeins of acrylic in the required green and white.  Which totally confused the poor LYS owner.  (“You’re buying this??  You??  Are you sure??”)  To calm the woman down I also grabbed some skeins of Mondial Ciao sock yarn, in the few solid shades they carry.  So it was really a good deed, right?  Never mind, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

I’m knitting the scarf in the round, which will make it reversible.  (And save a lot of weaving in ends when I do the colourwork.)  I’m planning a  few stripes on the edges, the team name spelled out along one side of  the scarf, and lots of fringe. A mindless knit when my brain isn’t up to the more complex patterns.

( I did ask older grand-nephew if he wanted a scarf too.  He said he had one already – bought from the Maccabi store.  I asked what about a hat?  Has one of those too.  Oh well.  I tried.)

My secret project with the aade long yarn and the Chiaogoo needles has now been given to the recipient, so it’s no longer a secret!  My friend Roberta  received her Unbirthday present tonight at SnB night.  I knitted her the Lazy Katy scarf/shawlette by Birgit Freyer.

The crochet border wasn’t nearly as bad as I feared, although I did make one error.  By the time I figured out that I wasn’t doing one part right, I had finished 20 repeats out of about 50, so I shrugged and kept on doing it the same way all the way through.  No way was I going to go back.   And it worked out anyway.

I’ve already cast on one for me too…

Enough blogging!  I have knitting to do!    😉

Tags:

3 Responses to “Multitasking + Knitting projects = Multiknitting??”

  1. Roberta Says:

    I love my Unbirthday present!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    You are a treasure , and I am glad that knitting brought us together.

  2. Teena in Toronto Says:

    Alas, my knitting needles are dusty from lack of use 😦

    Happy blogoversary 🙂

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Thank you!!

      Nothing sadder than dusty knitting needles, brush ’em off and find a project! 😀

Leave a Reply

