Happy Knitting in Public!

World Wide Knit in Public Day has arrived once again!  It’s the largest knitter run event in the world.   This year it lasts a little over a week, to accommodate knitters in different locations and traditions.  It began yesterday, June 11th, and continues until Sunday the 19th.

There are different events all over Israel.  In Haifa we kicked off our summer Stitch-n-Beach on Saturday, moving to a café by the shore to knit and gab and show off new stash and projects.  I continued by knitting at a mall café later, while waiting to meet partner and kidlet for a shopping trip.  (Of course, I knit in public all the time, but I’m making a special effort this week.)  Yesterday  I used the time to finish the Summer Mystery shawlette!   Here it is unblocked:

Can’t wait to block it!   (With my blocking wires!)

Now I’m working on my secret project with the Chiaogoo needles. And getting ready for my next Indigodragonfly Smart-Ass Knitter’s World Domination package this month!

It will arrive just in time, too.  Indigodragonfly is holding a Summer Knitalong of Doom, with lots of different categories and prizes.  The only requirement is that the projects are knit with Indigodragonfly yarn.   I can’t compete in the WIP category, as I don’t have any projects with Kim’s yarn on the needles, but I’ve signed up for the Club Blitz, since the Algonquin scarf from the club is still waiting patiently in my queue, and of course,  the new package will have a project.  Kim is also releasing a new pattern this month, the Cliffs of Insanity scarf, which sounds right up my alley.

Cast-on is scheduled for June 23rd, so I have almost 2 weeks to finish any other projects.  Piece of cake.  Yeah, right….

Better step up my public (and private?) knitting…..

Where is the strangest public place you ever knitted?

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Happy Knitting in Public!”

  1. Courtney Says:

    The Summer Mystery shawelette is gorgeous. I love the colors. Can’t wait to see it blocked.

    I haven’t picked up knitting in two weeks. In his arguments for only having two kids, this is something Matt uses to sway me to his side. If we only have two kids, you could knit more…. Weirdest place I’ve ever knit? Hmmm. I don’t knit much in public. My weirdest public knitting experience was a SFO-Boston flight where the flight attendant tried to teach me to knit continental. She harassed me every time she caught me knitting my regular way. I was so grateful to land and go knit in peace at my MIL’s!

Leave a Reply

