Doctors for me and for Arianrhod

Went to the doc today with my nasty cold that can’t make up its mind what it wants to be…one day it’s mainly throat and ears, the next day it’s headache and nausea, every day different and all days miserable.  No, of course I’m not feeling sorry for myself, why do you ask?  Anyway, doc said throat, ears and lungs are ok, so just stay in bed this week and drink a lot.

The problem with staying in bed is that Arianrhod also needs some treatment.  When I went out of the house to get to the doc, I saw that some rude person or persons had tried to break into my car.  Scratches and some dents all around the door, and a corner pulled way out.  They didn’t get in, but now the door isn’t closing quite properly.

Hadn’t looked at the car – haven’t even been outside – since Saturday evening when I parked in front of the house, so no idea when this happened.  Some choice words came to mind and were uttered even before I checked to make sure there were no neighbours around to hear them…  And to make it all more interesting, the “check engine” light was on.  Luckily the car is still under warranty, so I called the dealer and they told me which garage to go to.  After I saw my doc, it was the car’s turn and off we went.

When they checked the car, the body work manager told me the entire door needs to be replaced, since the scumbag would-be thieves managed to screw up some of the inner mechanisms of the door in addition to the metal being bent out of shape.  So I rang up my insurance agent.  We opened up a claim, and she sent an appraiser right over to the garage, faxing forms before he got there.   And the appraiser agrees with the garage’s assessment.

Now I have even more forms to fill out, scan, and send – and I have to get a police report as well.  The garage has ordered a new door for me, and when it arrives they’ll give me a replacement car for the duration of the repairs, so that’s ok.

Meanwhile, the engine light went on because of a faulty EGR valve – that’s “exhaust gas recirculation” for those not in the know (like me until today).  They also needed to re-seal one of the covers, for the plugs.  And to my great relief, this is all still covered by the car manufacturer!  The coverage ends in exactly 19 days, so I calls this fortunate, I do.  Miraculous, even.  The timing system also needs to be fixed (covered!), which they will do when I bring the car back to get the door replaced later this week.

So now I’m back home, resting in bed, and thinking I’ll take care of the police report tomorrow.  ‘Cause I’m still sick.  That’s enough excitement for one day.

Just a couple of rows of shawl…   For the nerves, right?

Did I really need this?

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Doctors for me and for Arianrhod”

  1. Joan P Says:

    So sorry about your car … that really sucks!! Dealing with that is a pain in the — on the best days … but when you are sick and are supposed to be in bed it’s even worse. Hope you feel better soon!!

  2. Courtney Says:

    I’m sorry you’re still sick, Chana. And so frustrating about the car – now you have to spend so much time, energy and money just to get it back to how it was initially. I hope you’re all better soon.

  3. Knittingdancer on Ravelry Says:

    So sorry to hear about your car. Some people just don’t care what they do other people’s property. I hope your cold gets better soon. Maybe you can knit on your shawl in bed.

Leave a Reply

