Tap, tap, tap

It is National Tap Dance Day in America!

National Tap Dance Day falls on May 25 every year as a celebration of tap dancing as an American art form. It was signed into American law in 1989.  Tap Dance Day is also celebrated in other countries, like Japan, Australia, India and Iceland.

National Tap Dance Day was the brainchild of Carol Vaughn, Nicola Daval, and Linda Christensen. They deemed May 25 appropriate for this holiday because it is the birthday of Bill “Bojangles” Robinson, a significant contributor to tap dance.

I love tap – although it is not as popular as it once was.  I tap danced for a few years – but not nearly as long as I danced ballet.  There are tap steps that still stay with me!

Here’s me as a tap dancer circa 1961 or 62

So today, go out and tap a few steps…or at least, enjoy some fantastic dancers as they do…

Tags:

4 Responses to “Tap, tap, tap”

  1. topperarnold Says:

    Gene Kelley is AWESOME. He is my absolute favorite dancer.

  2. Esther Says:

    Great vids. I did some tap for a very short time – was never very good but I enjoyed myself. It was so liberating after ballet.

    I love the duets: Fred Astaire and Cyd Charisse were a favourite. And White Nights is a favourite film in this house.
    My one complaint about our cable is the just don’t show enough old musicals.

Leave a Reply

