Of tea and tiaras…

Had more tests earlier this week.  I’m starting to look like a junkie, there are little bruises all the way down my arms.  They don’t hurt, but they’re sure not pretty.

Afterwards I was told to rest.  Left the hospital and popped over to the neighbouring mall to break the fast I had been on before the tests.  Sat at a lovely sunny café, ordered a big brunch, and pulled out my second Tiara sock.  This is before they brought all the food

With the home baked bread they serve a pesto sauce that is to die for.  I could make a meal just out of their bread and that pesto.

If you love pesto as much as I do, it’s really easy to make.  Here’s a very basic recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon pine nuts  (can be lightly toasted)

Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor or blender.   Blend to a smooth paste.  Or, if you want to, use a mortar and pestle and pound away.

Yum.

The project pouch in the picture was made for me in a swap by Kathy in Michigan (katinkat on Ravelry).  Perfect for small projects, and easy to hang from my wrist while I knit.

It was the perfect push to vanquish Second Sock Syndrome!  I have completed my Minion socks!

My first pair of non-vanilla socks.  And I love ’em.  Now back to the Criss-Cross.

As I was leaving the café I ran into my boss’ MIL.  I said hello, and she invited me to sit with her and have tea.  We had a lovely time!  Chatted about the wedding last week, about the family.  (She asked me what boss was like as a boss…I said she’s known him a lot longer than I have, but she said, yes, as a SIL, not as a boss…in short, we had fun.)  She is an avid reader, but she’s finding it harder to read, her eyes get tired.  Showed her my Kindle, and she became very excited about it – the next day boss asked me for details.  lol

I’m slowly but surely building up my book stash on the Kindle.  So far an eclectic assortment of bargain cozies – I see that I am going to have to establish a book budget.  When buying books was really expensive, I was careful.  Now that the Kindle books aren’t at all expensive I’ll have to watch it.  Pity.

We have solved the problem of my getting tea from the kitchenette to my office!  I’ve been given a kettle for my office, and I squeezed it in between the laminator and the spiral binding machine.

I have a stash of bottled water, so all I need to ask for is a small cup of milk in the morning, and I can make my tea at my desk.    I’m very happy about it.   I really hate asking busy people to fetch for me.

At home, on the other hand, I kinda like being spoiled.  Which probably isn’t fair.

Hm.

Leave a Reply

