Mothers – having one, being one

The hand that rocks the cradle is the hand that rules the world.          ~  W. R. Wallace

A mother is not a person to lean on, but a person to make leaning unnecessary.    ~  Dorothy Canfield Fisher

The phrase ” working mother ” is redundant.    ~  Jane Sellman

 

Making the decision to have a child – it’s momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.      ~  Elizabeth Stone

The doctors told me that I would never walk, but my mother told me I would, so I believed my mother.   ~  Wilma Rudolph, American athlete

The best way to keep children home is to make the home atmosphere pleasant — and let the air out of the tires.   ~  Dorothy Parker

 There are two lasting bequests we can give our children:   One is roots. The other is wings.   ~  Hodding Carter, Jr.

It’s not easy being a mother.   If it were easy, fathers would do it.    ~  from The Golden Girls

Motherhood has a very humanizing effect. Everything gets reduced to essentials.    ~  Meryl Streep

 

Sing out loud in the car even, or especially, if it embarrasses your children.    ~  Marilyn Penland

.

.

.

.

I love you, kidlet.

I miss you, Mom.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

