From the simple to the sublime

I’ve been helping the grand-nieces with their slippers for a few months now.  Remember the three 8-year-olds who wanted to learn to knit?  I bought all them “beginner’s needles” and bought a whole range of acrylic colours for them to choose from, and taught them a pattern that is all garter stitch.   And I taught them how to make pom-poms.

They’ve been working and working on their slippers.   And then at family gatherings, I help out, the grandmothers and aunts help out, we all knit a few stitches for them.  But they were all getting very anxious that the slippers weren’t getting finished (doesn’t that always happen with first projects?), so last weekend when we were visiting for a birthday party, the girls all brought me their WIPs and pleaded with me to take them home and finish them up before it gets too hot to wear them!

So I’ve been knitting simple acrylic with short plastic needles. Haven’t done that in a long while.

They were mostly done.  I’ve sewn most of them up, and still have to attach the pompoms.

But it started to hurt my hands.  So after a couple of hours of knitting the slippers, I decided I had to pamper my poor hands.  With my absolutely softest, most luscious yarn.

Which happened to be my long-staple DK cashmere from Indigodragonfly.    sigh

Yum.

I cast on for the #^@& You! fingerless mitts by Sarah Jenkins.  It was, after all, written for this yarn.  And the two mitts are slightly different, so there is no second-mitt syndrome.  Who says your mitts have to match exactly??    As usual, I’m doing them with Magic Loop instead of dpns.

My first pattern knitting a thumb, I usually just leave an opening for the thumb to poke through.  But this was great.  And it’s a fast and easy knit.

But oh my, the softness!    I’m prolonging the second mitt just to be able to keep knitting with this yarn.

After I’ve thoroughly pampered my hands with this project, I’ll go add the pompoms to the slippers.    There’s time.

Tags:

6 Responses to “From the simple to the sublime”

  1. Joan Pickart Says:

    Love these fingerless mitts!!! How can I get the pattern??

    thank!!
    joan

    • eclecticitee Says:

      It’s a pattern that was written for the club, but I think after a certain amount of time it becomes available to the public. Watch the pattern page on Ravelry!

  2. Roberta Says:

    I just might knit mine too…. Even though you know I am not crazy about my color! 🙂

  3. Sarah Says:

    Your mitts turned out fabulous!

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Thank you! I look pretty silly, though, I just keep rubbing my face with my hands… The mitts are just sooooo soft!

Leave a Reply

