Pondering Parker…

My life is easier, I finally began doing cables without a  cable needle!  Of course, this is only good with small cables, since you shouldn’t try to manage with more than 2-3 live stitches, and I know I would feel much more secure using a cable needle for large cables… but why I didn’t start doing this before I don’t know!  The waffle scarf is sailing along now.  The cable row is still fiddly…after all, it’s got 10 cables over 40 stitches.  But a lot less fiddly now that I’ve stopped juggling with 3 needles.

I’ve also lengthened the waffle holes, and I like how it looks.  Very subtle.  I’m starting the middle section and will lengthen them one more time, and for the last part shorten them twice to balance it out.

Many thanks to the knitting wizards who constantly teach us new tricks!

In other happy news, my second shipment of the Smart Ass Knitters World Domination Club has arrived from indigodragonfly.   Bliss.

Gorgeous merino/cashmere, and the colour is called Neither Bloody Nor Bowed, from a poem by Dorothy Parker, the quintessential Smart Ass.

Neither Bloody Nor Bowed

They say of me, and so they should,
It’s doubtful if I come to good.

I see acquaintances and friends
Accumulating dividends,

And making enviable names
In science, art, and parlor games.

But I, despite expert advice,
Keep doing things I think are nice,

And though to good I never come-
Inseparable my nose and thumb!

Dorothy Parker

My kinda woman.

The pattern for the yarn is a lovely lace pattern designed by Ronni Smith, called Algonquin, of course,  since we’re honouring Ms. Parker.

From various sources around the web:

The Algonquin Round Table was a celebrated group of New York City writers, critics, actors and wits. Gathering initially as part of a practical joke, members of “The Vicious Circle,” as they dubbed themselves, met for lunch each day at the Algonquin Hotel from 1919 until roughly 1929. At these luncheons they engaged in wisecracks, wordplay and witticisms that, through the newspaper columns of Round Table members, were disseminated across the country.

Charter members of the Round Table included:

  • Franklin Pierce Adams, columnist
  • Robert Benchley, humorist and actor
  • Heywood Broun, columnist and sportswriter (married to Ruth Hale)
  • Marc Connelly, playwright
  • George S. Kaufman, playwright and director
  • Dorothy Parker, critic, poet, short-story writer, and screenwriter
  • Harold Ross, The New Yorker editor
  • Robert E. Sherwood, author and playwright
  • John Peter Toohey, publicist
  • Alexander Woollcott, critic and journalist

Membership was not official or fixed so many others moved in and out of the Circle. Some of these included:

  • Tallulah Bankhead, actress
  • Edna Ferber, author and playwright
  • Raymond Austin, author and playwright and screenwriter
  • Margalo Gillmore, actress
  • Jane Grant, journalist and feminist (married to Ross)
  • Ruth Hale, journalist and feminist
  • Beatrice Kaufman, editor and playwright (married to George S. Kaufman)
  • Margaret Leech, writer and historian
  • Harpo Marx, comedian and actor
  • Neysa McMein, magazine illustrator
  • Alice Duer Miller, writer
  • Donald Ogden Stewart, playwright and screenwriter
  • Frank Sullivan, journalist and humorist
  • Deems Taylor, composer
  • Peggy Wood, actress

How I would have loved to sit in on those lunches…

Also in the package were some really nice stitchmarkers made by Erin Lynch – there were several different designs, I got butterflies (and a leaf).

(Erin has told indigodragonfly Kim that she will learn to knit if Kim dyes her some sparkly yarn…Kim has called her bluff and has ordered the yarn!)

Some more Dorothy Parker:

Wit has truth in it; wisecracking is simply calisthenics with words.

You can’t teach an old dogma new tricks.

I might repeat to myself slowly and soothingly, a list of quotations beautiful from minds profound — if I can remember any of the damn things.

A little bad taste is like a nice dash of paprika.

If you want to know what God thinks of money, just look at the people he gave it to.

The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.

Heterosexuality is not normal, it’s just common.

That would be a good thing for them to cut on my tombstone: Wherever she went, including here, it was against her better judgment.

Ah, where is the wit today?  Instead of being immortalized in print, it is briefly tweeted and is lost.  Pity.

Hm…I wonder if future biographies will include collections of famous tweets?

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

