Arianrhod has joined the family!

Bought a car.  Happy dance.  Bought a car.  Happy dance.  Bought a car.  Happy dance.

Can you tell I’m excited?  Not my first car, not by a long shot.  But I’ve been without wheels for almost 10 years now, ever since a drunk driver got mixed up with his colours and hit the gas on red.  My poor car was totalled, and partner had to run to meet the ambulance with me in it at the entrance to the ER.  ‘Twas a very old car,  insurance paid almost nothing, and finances have been tied up since then.

But a savings fund matured last month, and I’m really tired of taking buses and taxis.  So on Friday off we went to buy a car.  Did some homework online first, sailed in to the dealer, looked at a few cars in the lot, made a choice, wrote a check.   Called an insurance agent from the dealer, closed a deal on insurance, and the agent faxed over the papers, so we could drive the car off the lot.  All the rest of the paperwork will be finished this week.   The whole thing took about two hours, which left partner in shock…after all, we’re talking about purchasing a car, not a carton of milk.   But I pretty much knew what I wanted before I got there.

And here she is.

She’s a 2008 Chevy Aveo.   Silver.  Smooth quiet ride.  Very roomy, inside:

and especially in the trunk.    (As you can see,  kidlet decided to investigate thoroughly…)

Yes, of course we drove out to see kidlet at the boarding school the next day (yesterday), so she could see the car too.   And we took her for a meal and a little shopping as well.  Something that was impossible before.

Oh, and of course I gave her the Hermione Hat.

(The wandering yarn finally arrived, and I have cast on for two more gifts/projects…but I’m not going to talk about that now…)

I have named the car Arianrhod, after the Welsh Goddess of the moon and stars.  Literally, her name means “Goddess of the Silver Wheel”, which is pretty darn appropriate.   From the White Goddess website:

Arianrhod (ah-ree-AHN-rhohd),  Arian meaning ‘silver’, and Rhod meaning ‘wheel’ or ‘disc’.   Celtic Moon-Mother Goddess.   Called the Silver Wheel that Descends into the Sea.    Daughter of the Mother Goddess Don.

I had to laugh, even her name sounds like “Ari on road”,   and so I will call her Ari for short, even though in Hebrew Ari is usually a man’s name.

(I have always named my cars after goddesses, with the exception of the first car I bought myself – she was Cleis.   In Greek literature, Cleis was the daughter of Sappho.)

The name also fits – goddess of the moon – since we bought her the day of the full moon.  On the 18th, which is the number of life.  I tried to grab this picture of the full moon over the bay while I was driving down the mountain that evening – very bad quality, sorry.

Partner doesn’t like the name Arianrhod, and insists she will call the car Silvie.   LOL … ok.

Do you name your cars and/or other significant pieces of machinery?   After all, we name boats, and planes.  And – at least in fiction – sleds.  So why not cars?  Maybe, if it’s named – making it more personal – we drive more carefully?

One can only pray.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Arianrhod has joined the family!”

  1. Knittingdancer on Ravelry Says:

    Very nice car. I sometimes call my car Betsy. My car is a 1994 Nissan Sentra LE. As you can tell, the year of the car isn’t important to me as gone it runs and looks good. My parents bought it new for me in 1995 for my 38th birthday since they didnot buy me a car when I graduated from high school like they did for my brother and 2 sisters. I didn’t get my driver’s license until I was 25. It still looks good and drive good. I know I will have to bite the bullet and go car shopping one day, too.

  2. Laura B Says:

    The very first car I got I felt inclined to name as well, but instead of giving her a name without really knowing her I thought I’d try to help her speak on her own (no I swear I’m not nuts). I flipped on the radio and the very first song that came on was the ‘daisy dukes’ rap song. Since that point on her name was Daisy. That name has somehow transcended through three generations of cars that I’ve possessed. My current 1999 Toyota 4Runner Ltd. Edition is known as Daisy the 3rd. I’m not sure that it’s helped me stay out of accidents–getting to know my car since just last month I ended up going through oncoming traffic into a chain link fence. However, I think that with a bit of faith, good luck, heightened senses and logic, and trust in your car can get you a long way without any diasters. Congratulations on your new car–she’s a beaut!

  3. Roberta Says:

    Happy dance! Happy dance!

    Enjoy the new car and be safe 🙂

    Happy dance! Happy dance!

  4. lani ravin Says:

    Congrats on new (for you) wheels!!! I have not named cars, but Georgina (trusty GPS) did absolutely need to be named since she talks to us all the time. And she’s so polite! Instead of saying “you *#4%, you missed that turn!” she says, in a calm measured tone, “recalculating route”. What’s not to love?

    Speaking of cars, ours is completely snowed in today. One corner of one window is peeking out of the drifted snow. And we got a snow day today! University closed…

    • eclecticitee Says:

      LOL….don’t have a GPS, I’m not sure if I really need one. And I react so badly to someone telling me what to do…. But if I do get one she will be female!

      We don’t have snow, not even at work (yet), but it’s raining and hailing pretty hard. I would freak if my shiny new car got buried!!!

  5. Esther Says:

    We name all our cars. Our present Punto is Latte – because she is white, Grande and Italian.

Leave a Reply

