Famous Fiber Fan…

I’m still waiting to see the book the Friday Night Knitting Club, by Kate Jacobs,  made into a film.

It was originally scheduled for 2008, but has been delayed and delayed, and is now promised for 2013.  Produced by and starring Julia Roberts, who is, as probably everyone knows by now, an avid knitter.  She’s even mentioned in the book, someone comes to the shop in the hopes of meeting her.  I wonder how they’ll handle that bit in the movie.  I assume just not include it.   Still nothing about who else is in the cast.  Curious that the project just doesn’t seem to move.

A few years ago there was reportedly a rush on fashion stores when Roberts was photographed with this felted bag.  Fans wanted one too!

 

Alas, it was not to be found.  Everything I’ve been able to read about it says it was a personal design knitted and felted by Julia, never marketed.

Just last month the magazine Entertainment Weekly featured a glimpse behind the scenes of the upcoming film Larry Crowne, starring Tom Hanks and Julia.

“Julia would knit on the set – scarves, hats” recalls producer Gary Goetzman. “One morning, Tom thought it would be hilarious if everyone was doing it. So she walked on set and saw 50 people knitting.”

 

 

I’ve been going crazy searching the net trying to find another photo, I want to see all the people knitting!!  No success yet.  I wonder if that many people on the set knew how to knit already or if they all had to learn in a hurry.   And if they’ll now get bitten by the knitting bug and continue!  If so, Julia Roberts will have converted even more folks to the craft.

We can only hope….

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Famous Fiber Fan…”

  1. Courtney in Crete Says:

    Truthfully I thought that was a lousy book, as much as I wanted to like a knitting book. I think there are sequels, too.

    I love Tom Hanks.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I agree to some extent. The characters are pretty formulaic, and the plot is sometimes predictable and occasionally melodramatic. On the other hand, I did like most of the characters, stereotypes and all, the bonds come across, and the healing power of knitting adds to the story for me. I thought her writing was suited more to a screenplay than a novel, which is why I want to see the movie made.

      I have the next book in the series, but still haven’t gotten around to reading it, it’s not too high on the TBR pile…

Leave a Reply

