Picot, red scarf and stash

The circular vest is finally finished!

I can now admit,  this was my first picot bind-off.  I could never get my head around it before, and there have been patterns that either I avoided or did a different bind-off for them instead.  Yes, I know the Baana also has a picot bind-off, but I’m not there yet and I was planning on crossing that bridge when I came to it.

I guess I never noticed that the vest also has a picot edge, I just happily kept knitting the rounds and calculated how much yarn I would need for a stretchy bind-off.  Then I checked the pattern.  Oops.  OK.  But the instructions were so clear, that this time I totally got it!  Picot it was.  But it takes a lot of extra yarn, and I started worrying when I saw the yarn dwindling away halfway through the bind-off.  I started sporadically making the picot points an extra stitch apart.  Made it, though,  with about 4 meters of yarn left over at the end.  Whew.   Pictures post-blocking!  And another technique to check off on my knitting list!

Enjoyed a yarn crawl today, too.  Started off by heading to one LYS to grab some yarn for a swap package, but the bus got stuck in traffic and I got to the shop about 5 minutes after it had closed.  (It closes early, which is why it was first on the list.)  Silly me for not calling ahead.  OK, off to the next LYS to buy a different swap gift.  Then to a third for yarn for this year’s Red Scarf Project.  Yep, it’s that time again.  The Orphan Foundation of America’s project is accepting red scarves through December 15th.  I’m starting a little earlier this time around.  Last year I knitted the One-Row Handspun Scarf by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.

I haven’t yet decided which pattern I’ll choose this year.

I went to buy one specific yarn.  Wasn’t looking for anything else.  I have lots of wonderful yarn in my stash.  Lots of projects lined up, that will take me a long time to finish.  So I don’t need more yarn, right?  Um…

I only bought two more yarns.  Hey, they might not be there next time when maybe I’ll decide that I have to have them.  I bought some Mondial Merino Extra in a new colourway that looks very interesting.

And some Silke Witico in lovely blues and greens.

Pretty, aren’t they?  And I’m sure they’ll wait patiently in my stash for their turn on the needles.

Last stop today wasn’t a LYS at all, but a fabric shop.  Kidlet is really enjoying learning to sew, and requested some material patterns that they don’t have at school  (leopard, tiger – she’s into animal fabrics right now…).   I got those she asked for and a particularly vibrant pink cow fabric as well, which she was quite thrilled with when she came home for a visit later in the afternoon.

So a (mostly) successful crafty shopping day, and a new FO!

Shabbat Shalom.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Picot, red scarf and stash”

  1. Roberta Says:

    Can hardly wait to see pictures of the blocked circular vest!

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I’m still trying to figure out where to block it! My blocking squares aren’t big enough. I may have to buy a carpet! lol 😀

Leave a Reply

