Happy Halloween!

to all my friends abroad!

We don’t celebrate it here.  Our costume-wearing holiday is Purim, of course.  When kidlet was little my mother would buy up great costumes the day after Halloween when everything was half off, send them off to Israel, and kidlet would have wonderful and unique costumes to choose from when Purim rolled around in the spring.  Since we were usually invited to several Purim parties every year, not to mention the kids wearing costumes to school, she got to choose a few different costumes each year.  It worked.

Now this I just have to share, given the holiday.  Fiber artist Ben Cuevas knit up this amazing and accurate skeleton for his installation Transcending the Material at the Wassaic Project in NY.

Check out those teeth!

 

Hope you enjoy more treats than tricks, and may the children be happy and safe!

 

4 Responses to “Happy Halloween!”

  1. Anna Says:

    Wow, that skeleton is intense. Love the close-up of the teeth! I wish my knitting skillz were that awesome.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Just thinking of trying to knit that makes me want to run screaming into the dark, I’m in awe.

  2. Joan Pickart Says:

    Oh My Word …. that knit skeleton is amazing!!!!

    The jack-o-lanterns are really neat!!! I especially like the pirate!

    I learned about Purim last spring at my Bible Study …. we were doing Beth Moore’s study on Esther and someone made a presentation … I didn’t remember that the children dressed in costumes …. very interesting …..

    Thanks!
    joan

    • eclecticitee Says:

      It used to be that the kids just dressed up as the characters in the Purim story, but for years now it’s been anything goes as far as costumes! lol

Leave a Reply

