Gifts

The heat wave has finally broken.  Ridiculous, this business of 38-9° C  (that’s 100°F) at the end of October.  Rain is being forecast again.  Yesterday when I left work the clouds were beginning to appear.  Not yet rain clouds, but hey, it’s a start.

Kidlet has been showering me with little gifts.  She studies at a Waldorf school, which focuses on the whole person – mind, body, spirit – instead of just the mind.  From Wikipedia:

It is a humanistic approach to pedagogy based upon the educational philosophy of the Austrian philosopher Rudolf Steiner, the founder of anthroposophy. Learning is interdisciplinary, integrating practical, artistic, and conceptual elements. The approach emphasizes the role of the imagination, developing thinking that includes a creative as well as an analytic component. The educational philosophy’s overarching goals are to provide young people the basis on which to develop into free, moral and integrated individuals, and to help every child fulfill his or her unique destiny, the existence of which anthroposophy posits.

In practice, this means that for every academic lesson, the kids also have a lesson in the arts or crafting – and since this is where kidlet shines, she’s loving it.  In the mainstream schooling, when budget and hours are cut, these are always the first things to go.

Anyway.  Last month in drawing class, kidlet dedicated her teapot to me:

Last time she was home, she brought me gifts that she made in her jewelry making and sewing classes.  A lovely necklace

and a flower hairpin.

She has sewn a bag for herself, which she’s very excited about, and has lots of ideas for new projects.  They haven’t yet reached fiber arts, but she should definitely have a head start there from exposure at home!

One of the reasons there hasn’t been much knitting talk here in the blog is that I’ve also been working on gifts.  So far I’ve finished 18 little projects, although some are in sets.  One thing I’m excited about is a pattern I’ve written for a svivon!  Or dreidel, if that’s what you call it.  I made one, then tweaked it and changed it and made another, which will be a gift for someone in the Chanuka swap.

I originally wrote  it without colourwork, so that the letters are raised in the same colour.  Then I decided to add the contrasting yarn.  This is the prototype

I tried carrying the contrast yarn inside loosely, which was a problem when I stuffed it, and the letters came out pinched.  And the corners were very wide, which I also changed.  Kidlet felt that the handle was too short.   I’ll get the final pattern written up and publish it, if anyone is interested!

And now I’m back to the WIP parade…

4 Responses to “Gifts”

  1. pip Says:

    Blimey that is hot! and that sounds like a great school 🙂

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I’m impressed with the school so far. I wish we had gotten her in there earlier. But then she would have “left home” earlier too. 😦

  2. Roberta Says:

    The sevivon looks great Chana!
    I think you should put it on Ravelry 🙂

Leave a Reply

