Decisions, decisions

No Saturday matinee today, much too busy packing for the cruise.  I always pack too many clothes – because I want to be prepared for anything unexpected that might come up.  Then I end up not needing half of it.  Well, maybe not half, but some.  After all, there must be clothes for touring (comfy, layered, good walking shoes), clothes for hanging out on the ship, clothes for dinner and/or a show, clothes for the exercise room / walking track, clothes for the pool.   Should be hot weather, but there can also be an unexpected cool breeze.

Just as critical, of course, is deciding which WIPs to take.  I’ve narrowed it down to four, to give some variety, depending on where and when I’ll be knitting.  I usually try knitting on every deck and in every lounge, to see where the best conditions are.  🙂  I’m fighting the strong temptation to toss in some new yarn and a pattern to start a new project.  I promised myself I wouldn’t!  Argh.

Partner has looked up the forecast, and it seems we may have some rough seas, at least for part of the journey.  On the cruise we took a year and a half ago, we had one night of really rough sea.  Partner didn’t sleep at all, but it rocked me right into a deep sleep.  Early conditioning, possibly, my parents owned a sailboat and they used to set up my playpen right on the deck and I would play and sleep there.

Cat has been boarded.  She was still wary of the new surroundings but OK when I left her there.   Kidlet misses her already.

A few last errands in the morning and we’re off to the port!  I may not have much time to blog, but I will try to post a picture or two a day.

3 Responses to “Decisions, decisions”

  1. knittingdancer Says:

    Have fun on your cruise. I only been on one. My mother, her 1st cousin, and me went on a 7 day Alaskan cruise in May 2006. It was great. We only had one day of rough seas, next to the last day.

  2. Courtney Says:

    What Greek isles, Chana? Are you coming back to Heraklion?

    Cruises require an insane amount of clothes. Although I’ve packed exercise clothes for the two I’ve been on, and only used them once. Never again. 🙂 My cruising exercise regime includes: never take elevators (easy when you’re claustrophobic), being the first one off the ship and the last one on. In Helsinki on a Baltic cruise in 2006, they had to call our names on the loudspeaker and we were running to catch the ship. It freaked my mom out.

    Matt is talking about taking the Queen Mary home when we move back to the US in two years. I think a trans-Atlantic crossing will give lots of time for knitting (even with two kids!).

  3. Courtney Says:

    P.S.: There’s been a dearth of knitting photos lately!

Leave a Reply

