Bare footsies

Mud is very nice to feel

All squishy-squash between the toes!

I’d rather wade in wiggly mud

Than smell a yellow rose.

Nobody else but the rosebush knows

How nice mud feels between the toes.

— Polly Chase Boyden

One of my favourite poems as a child.

Do you like wearing shoes?  I don’t.

I never wear shoes if I can help it.  Definitely not at home.  When I come home from work, or anywhere else, the first thing that happens is the shoes go flying off my feet.  And when going out the very last thing I do is put on shoes.

It’s so nice to know that going barefoot is actually much healthier for your feet than binding them up in footwear.  Study after study has been done,  and the general conclusion is that the more we keep our feet out of shoes, the better off we are.  Here are just a few examples of barefoot research.  Many doctors recommend we go barefoot at least part of the day.  Most folks would probably do that around the house  (except for  some people I know who can’t stand being barefoot, even when they sleep), but a growing number of people – calling themselves “barefooters” – advocate being barefoot in public as well.  Not to mention the advantages of running barefoot – we’ve seen some excellent cases in international track events.

There are a lot of myths about being barefoot in public.  For example, in the US and Europe it is not against the law or health department regulations to go barefoot into any kind of establishment including restaurants.  The health laws refer to employees, not patrons.  The “no shirt, no shoes, no service”  policy in the US began around the 1960s, some believe as an attempt to keep hippies out.  There are also no laws against driving barefoot.

Awareness is growing in Europe about barefoot living, and there are Barefoot Parks for people to enjoy nature without shoes!  I want to go!

The Society for Barefoot Living has lots of resources and information about the benefits of being barefoot.

I would love to spend more time barefoot, including outside.  Especially on the grass.  My only concerns about spending more time outside barefoot are sharp objects that can hurt and the fact that hey, it’s hot here, and walking on pavement can burn my feet!  Barefooters, of course, have answers to these worries.

In the meantime, I eschew shoes at home, at the beach or pool, on a lawn.  Whether I will expand my barefoot horizons remains to be seen.

Tags:

One Response to “Bare footsies”

  1. knittingdancer on Ravelry Says:

    I am like you the first thing off when I get home is my shoes. In the winter time I only wear socks in the house. My mother used to fuss at me for not wearing anything on my feet in the winter, so I got in the habit of wearing socks in the winter. The floor does get cold, our heater vents are in the ceiling.

Leave a Reply

