Green

I’ve joined NaBloPoMo again this month.  They make it sound so simple:  Post every day for a month. That’s all you have to do.  It’s a challenge!

The theme for this month is Green.  As in the colour of summer, gardening, growth, ecology and environment, envy, safe passage (as opposed to red), money, lack of experience, and lots more which will probably occupy my attention over a few posts this month.

The first thing that popped into my head – other than the fact that I just finished a project in green yarn and I just found a new project that requires green yarn  – was how many songs do I know that have “green” in the title?  A friend and I used to play this game a lot.  We didn’t have a car, and spent a lot of time walking places.  To pass the time we would think of a word, then try to come up with song titles with the word.  Knowing the tune was also important, and if you actually knew the lyrics that was an extra point.  Therefore I’ll dedicate this blog post to Reuven and long walks.

So…. Green.  Amazingly eclectic collection here, something for everyone…

Truthfully , Kermit was the first one I thought of.  Kind of scary, that….     Here he is – It’s Not Easy Being Green


On to a classic ballad.    Here sung by The King’s Singers:    Greensleeves


Green Onions by Booker T and the MG’s

I used to play this next one on the piano a lot.  I’m surprised at my parent’s patience.  Green Tambourine by Lemon Pipers


Big Bright Green Pleasure Machine by Simon and Garfunkel


The same decade, wildly different style… Green Green Grass Of Home by Tom Jones


Green-Eyed Lady by Sugarloaf


Green Door by Shakin’ Stevens


The extraordinary voice.  Evergreen by Barbra Streisand


Green River by Creedence Clearwater Revival

I adore Joni.  I listened to her albums non-stop in university.  This is a song about her daughter.    Just a little Green by Joni Mitchell


OK, OK, against my better judgment, something actually from this decade.  I Love You (But You’re Green) by Shrek and Fiona Babyshambles

The problem with this next one is it tends to get stuck in my head…  I still have it in my mp3 player, though…  Bitter Green by Gordon Lightfoot


This one is kidlet’s request… Green Heaven by Red Hot Chili Peppers


Sudden genre leap….  Little Green Apples by Roger Miller


And who remembers this one?  (And who remembers it not in reruns?) Green Acres

Any more you would add to the list?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Green”

  1. Dixie Says:

    Greenfields – The Brothers Four (another blast from the past)

Leave a Reply

