Flaunt your book!

I’m woefully behind on my catalogue updates over at LibraryThing.  One room of bookshelves is listed already, another room of bookshelves to go.  And we won’t even talk about what I want to put in my Wishlist.  So little time!  Can we possibly get a few more hours into a day?  Where can we petition?

What, you don’t know LibraryThing?  As they describe it, it’s an online service to help people catalog their books easily. You can access your catalog from anywhere—even on your mobile phone. Because everyone catalogs together, LibraryThing also connects people with the same books, comes up with suggestions for what to read next, and so forth.   It’s also a full-powered cataloging application, searching the Library of Congress, all five national Amazon sites, and more than 80 world libraries. You can edit your information, search and sort it, “tag” books with your own subjects, or use the Library of Congress and Dewey systems to organize your collection.

And if you want it, LibraryThing is also an active social space.  You can check out other people’s libraries, see who has the most similar library to yours, swap reading suggestions, chat with authors, sign up for early reviews, etc.   I belong to several discussion groups there, although I don’t join in very often.

I do read their blog, though.  And it’s very handy when someone wants to give me a book – they can just check in my library there to see what I already have.

They also hold several Readathons during the year.  The next one is on August 22nd, and this is from the blog:

See, we’re having a ReadaThing readathon in August, and the theme is Reading In Public*…

The Reading In Public ReadaThing is one of a series of readathons hosted on LibraryThing’s forum system, Talk. A readathon is a chosen period of time (24 hours, usually) where members take turns reading, as to have non-stop reading during the event. Thanks to night-owls and international participation, there can be non-stop reading

*Unlike knitting in public, RIP is an unfortunate acronym.

**We decided that reading on your porch or in a lit window count, as long as someone else can see you. It’s kind of a reverse-peeping-tom.

(Ahem.  They know all about Knitting in Public day, it seems…. 😀 )

So, yes, I’m planning on reading in public that day, though I haven’t signed up for a time slot.  That’s a wee bit too structured for me…   I read in public a lot anyway, just like I knit in public a lot.  The site is selling LibraryThing T-shirts at a 40% discount  so lots of people can wear them while reading in public, and you can also download a special book cover to use that day to let the public know about the readathon while you’re reading.

So flaunt your book and flutter your pages on August 22nd.  What will you choose to read in public?  I will be reading a cozy, of course, now the question is which one?

(Hey, tomorrow the hippie sheep get a new home!  How exciting!)

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Flaunt your book!”

  1. Esther Says:

    Although I have an account on Librarything I’m more a Goodreads person.
    Whichever site I love haven’t a place to both catalogue and discuss the books I’m reading. The only problem is that I now have so many recommendations that if I read a book everyday for the rest of my life I wouldn’t get through them all!

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Oh, I know that feeling. If I don’t add anything to my TBR pile, I may manage to read everything in about 20 years. But I find new books to read all the time!!

  2. Alexis Hayman Says:

    I am currently on Goodreads, but I never find myself using it because it takes me so long to update the books I’ve read. Is Librarything a lot different?

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I can’t compare them because I don’t use Goodreads, but I find LibraryThing is very user-friendly.

Leave a Reply

