One Year Blogoversary!

Busy, busy, busy. I’ve barely had enough time to check my mail, let alone pen pithy words of wisdom for my blog. And so much to add!

First, yesterday was my first blogoversary!!   Yay, me!    To celebrate, I’m having a giveaway – something I saw this week and grabbed immediately for myself, and then decided to get another for a visitor to my blog.  I thought about yarn, but not all my visitors are knitters, and I wanted to give something for everyone.  I promise there will be more yarn giveaways in the future, though…

So….what will I be  giving away?   A notions bag, that’s just perfect for extra hooks and scissors and cable needles and tape measures and stitch markers and row counters, and all those things that can get lost in the knitting bag.  And if you don’t knit, well, it can hold your pencils and lip balm and any other little do-dads you don’t want getting lost.  It is purple (of course – would I have any other colour notions bag?), and on it are pictures of … hippie sheep!  On one side is a sheep with a guitar and peace sign

And on the other side are a whole bunch o’sheep in a VW van….I mean, how much more hippie-like can you get?  And sheep are cute, even if you don’t covet their wool.

(The text running along there is jolly love and peace jolly happiness.)

To enter, there are several possibilities.  A comment on my blog is an entry.  Tweet about the giveaway, and comment to tell me about it, another entry.  Blog about my giveaway on your own blog and then come back and tell me about it in a comment and you’ll receive another entry.  In a week, on July 30th, I’ll draw the winner out of a hat!  Let the fun begin!

And meanwhile, just why am I so busy?  Well, besides things being crazy at work and my boss jetting off to all corners of the globe leaving me with lots of things to take care of…

Had a wonderful visit by a cousin-by-marriage who was staying with a friend of hers in Jerusalem and decided to pop up north and visit us for a few days.  We rented a car and managed to see an amazing amount of the  country while she was here – climbed the walls of ancient Akko, went up to the border at Rosh HaNikra, toured the Druze village of Daliat-el-Carmel, drove all the way around the Sea of Galilee, had lunch on the waterside for two days running – once at Akko marina, and once in Tiberius, and went all over Haifa by night and by day – had dinner in some wonderful restaurants, including a great Lebanese restaurant in Haifa.  We ran her so ragged she may never want to come back – but I hope she does, I had a great time.  At least one day she got to relax all day on the beach…and I took her to a new café for dinner.  One of their specialties is their fruit juice smoothies…and while I was intrigued by the pear and beet juice combo, I settled for melon and mint and it was fantastic.  What unlikely combination of fruit juices would you want to try?

Kidlet hasn’t given us any more scares, thank goodness.  She went off to camp for a week – she begins boarding school in September and was invited to join her new class/housemates on a trip to a kibbutz on the northern border,  so off she went.  Called me the first night – at 1:30 in the morning – to tell me with horror that they had to get up at 4am to go to work on the kibbutz for 3 hours before breakfast.  And get up she did, every morning, to pull weeds in the orchards.  In the mud.  My fashion-conscious fastidious little princess.  I was thrilled.  And she loved it.  They hiked, spent lots of time at the pool, had lots of activities.  We went and picked her up today, and she already wants to go back.  Made lots of new friends, and can’t wait for school to start.   More about that later…

I can finally talk about a project I finished back in May!  When one friend Marina had a stash-busting evening, in which she gave away all the yarn she won’t have room for when she moves soon,  there was one yarn that our friend Ayelet really wanted.  But decided not to  take, because it was lace weight and she doesn’t knit lace, and so insisted that I take it.  And while it was light purple, it was entirely too pink for me.  So….I knit a shawl for Ayelet, and gave it to her this week after she gave birth to her beautiful new daughter Tama.

I made the Haruni shawl, designed by Emily Ross.

and so it was Ayelet’s  “Mommy present” !

I’ve already bought the yarn to make one of these for myself.  In purple.  But I’ve decided that the rest of the summer shall be for WIP-busting, and no more new projects cast on.  Ahem.  I’ll keep you posted on how that works out.

I’ve already finished the Dancing Cranes stole, and it’s blocking now.

Quite Only a few more WIPs to go.  Enough to keep me quite happy.  Until a new yarn/pattern calls out to me.  No!  I will be strong!   Eh.

Now, who is going to win my hippie sheep???

Tags: , , ,

38 Responses to “One Year Blogoversary!”

  1. InJuneau Says:

    Congrats on the blogoversary! And, what an adorable project bag! And thanks for the great giveaway.

  2. knittingdancer on Ravelry Says:

    Purple is one of my favorite colors, too. I love the little sheep with the peace sign. I am so glad Kidlet is doing so much better. The shawl you made for your friend is beautiful.

  3. Jessy Says:

    happy one year blogoversary!!!! The sheep is sooo cute.

  4. Jessy Says:

    I “tweeted” about the giveaway on @JessicaSki

  5. Jessy Says:

    I also posted a link to this giveaway at: happyhappens.tumblr.com

  6. Sheri Says:

    Aww I love the notions bag, add me to the giveaway.

    Congrats on the one year, and the accomplishment on the shawl!

  7. Kristen Says:

    Those hippy sheep are SO cute! I’d love to win.

    (globalite on Ravelry)

  8. Pat Says:

    The sheep are darling! Love Ayelet’s Mommy Shawl. Gorgeous but can’t wait to see it in purple.

  9. Lauren Says:

    That sheep is SO cute!

    I would love to win it.

    That shawl is super cute, too! Great job!

  10. Shirley Says:

    Congratulations! Thank you for having the giveaway!

  11. Jan L Says:

    How cute that little notions bag is. I, of course, remember quite well the landmark year “1969” – the ulitmate in hippydom. Yea! Woodstock

  12. oonagh rabenwald Says:

    adorable!!! and lovely shawl……..

    -oonaghfibersmyth on ravelry

  13. likingtheride on Ravelry Says:

    Happy BlogAversary!!! And, how nice to give that beautiful shawl to someone who (obvious from the picture) will adore it!! It’s gorgeous… all of it!

  14. Chia Says:

    Adorable sheep and lovely knitting. Really lovely knitting.

  15. Dixie Says:

    Your shawl is beautiful!
    And I LOVE the hippie sheep!!!!

  16. OzKnitter Says:

    Happy Blogiversary! The shawl and stole are gorgeous!

  17. Mardy Says:

    What a cute bag and congrats on your Blogoversary.

  18. Amy Says:

    Congrats! Love you over at the $10 swap. Cool bag!

  19. purlverde Says:

    Nice bag, beautiful Haruni! And Happy Blogoversary! Thanks for the chance to win!

  20. tami Says:

    the haruni is beautiful and the hippie sheeep are cute too
    squiggi on ravelry

  21. Stacey Says:

    Congrats on your blogoversery!
    That sheep is tooo adorable!

  22. Robin Says:

    Lurrrve the bag, congrats on your blogoversery. Hope I win:)

  23. turtle Says:

    gorgeous shawl! Oh my gosh, seriously that is the most adorable sheep i have seen in ages. It takes me back too with the VW bus on the back. For a number of years my dad actually lived in his, it was set up like an rv inside. Of course i am the child of hippie parents, their woodstock souvenir literally. (then born on the first earth day which also fell on a full moon) I know right? lol…… Happy blogiversary! (sorry i don’t tweet and my blog is so out of date!) Off to stalk u a bit and get to know you!

  24. Holly Marie Says:

    What a cute bag! The sheep are adorable! Thanks for this great giveaway, and congrats on your blogversary!!

  25. helenlam Says:

    Congrats on the blogoversary! What a beautiful shawl and a cute bag!

  26. monica torres Says:

    happy blogoversary! what a great accomplishment~
    peace~m

  27. Diane W Says:

    Congrats, it’s hard to keep up with a blog and yet so fun to share with others. I love the stole; I think I’ll have to look up that pattern!

  28. Janet aka jani22 Says:

    Congratulations on your Blogoversary!

    Love love love the pouch you’re giving away 🙂

  29. Caroline Says:

    The notions bag is darling and the workmanship in the knitting is unbelievably beautiful. Well done!

  30. Sara Says:

    oh, your shawl is gorgeous! I really really like that pattern!!!!

  31. Lisa Says:

    I’ve never seen a hippie sheep before – so adorable!!!! Count me in for the drawing =)

  32. Lisa Says:

    I tweeted it too. have a few crafty friends that would like it.

    http://twitter.com/Iesadora/status/19634480364

  33. Laurie Says:

    found your blog thru ravelry. the bag is cool, but that shawl is to die for, man you did a beautiful job

    marlib7 on ravelry

  34. Heather Says:

    found you through Ravelry. I love the sheep bag and that stole is gorgeous. I totally understand the WIP focus right now. I have been trying to catch up on mine so I can have the needles for other projects .Hope you succed.

  35. Sinclair Says:

    I would be happy to have a cute sheepy notions bag! Happy Blogoversary!

  36. eclecticitee Says:

    Thank you , thank you, thank you everyone for your kind comments!

  37. Laura Bartlett Says:

    The sheep is absolutely precious!!!

  38. Cindy Jones Says:

    Soooo who wins? I love the hippie sheep bag. I bought a VW bus just like the one on the bag and drove to Branson with two foster kids and my son only to break down an hour this side of Branson! What fun we had on that trip 🙂 !! Did you pick a winner yet? I’ll have to get one for my collection, too! Thanks for doing a give-away :O)

Leave a Reply

