So many surprises

I’ve been knitting a lot these days, and almost all of it is gifts.  Which means I can’t talk about them yet, nor show pictures.   My projects page at Ravelry is showing several of these ↓  in project photos.

Very frustrating, to not be able to talk about what I’m knitting!!!  ‘Specially since I really like these projects…  Some are already completed, some are almost there – and I’ll show them all off once they are received.

In the meantime, I’m gearing up for the next projects in line, to begin in the next few days.  In my oh so foolish enthusiasm, I’ve joined both a JAL and a KAL  – that’s Join Along and Knit Along, and please don’t ask me what the difference is.

The JAL is for the Seascape Stole designed by Kieran Foley, here in the Summer 2008  Knitty magazine.

I splurged and bought two skeins of  Manos lace yarn at the Yarn-and-Falafel Spring Fiber Fling, and I’m dying to cast on and work with this!  It’s sooooo soft – alpaca, silk and cashmere – and I can hardly wait to see it knitted into this stole.

The KAL is for a brand new pattern by Shui Kuen Kosinski (who designed the Luna Moth shawl) and Benne Ferrell:  the Dancing Crane Stole, here on the elann site.

It’s designed for a mohair/silk blend (although most yarns would be lovely for this).  I made a quick trip to the LYS and came home with BBB Soft Dream, 70% mohair/30% silk.

I wanted a dark red colour, but the red they had was way too bright.  I think this pale leaf green is perfect for spring!  The KAL is to start on June 1st, which gives me time to finish all the gifts and get going on the Seascape as well.    The rest of the ongoing projects are, as usual, ongoing.  I like to switch around…

Putting together two swap packages, one for the Cuppa Tea? spring swap, and one Hometown swap.  As far as the first (tea-n-yarn)  swap, my swap partner lives near the Harney and Sons’ warehouse, so I’m more than a wee bit excited!!!  My package of goodies for her is almost ready.   It includes yarn and notions, tea and accessories, and a couple of surprises.  The latter swap I’m also moderating, I had a fun time matching people up!   I made a grid to navigate the smokers/people not willing to swap with smokers, people with pets and people allergic to pets, people who choose not to swap overseas and people who want an overseas partner , people with allergies or specific requests, people who have former swap partners in the group – in short, I had a wonderfully geeky time filling out my grid and making matches to meet all needs!   Now I’m busy getting a package together for my partner that tells about where I live.

Stories from the weekend when I get the pictures organised!

Leave a Reply

