Vacation is over

Back at work.

I managed to start and finish a project this week with my “Artemis” yarn, the yarn that I dyed this winter.  My computer is acting very sluggish, I suppose I’ll have to get it checked soon.  So I wanted a project that I could do in front of the computer while things loaded slowly…mostly mindless, nothing complicated that would distract me from whatever I was waiting for.  And besides, the yarn was whispering to me.

I chose the burberry inspired cowl by Julianne Smith.  All stockinette, but every 15 rows or so you throw in a monster cable or two.  I’d never done a 16-stitch cable before!

Here it is, all the knitting done, I just have to take out the scrap yarn from the provisional cast on and kitchener the ends together.

Of course, now it’s getting warm, I don’t know if I can use the cowl until next winter, but they’re saying it will get colder and rainy again this week, so maybe…

The end of the holiday was a little slower,  a little quieter.  On Monday kidlet went off to spend the day with a friend, so partner and I went to the beach for lunch.  Beautiful day.

Bit of a breeze, though.  A warm breeze, at least, not a cold one.

We sat at a favourite  cafe out on the sand.

I got some work done on the baana.

After the beach we picked kidlet up and finished the vacation with a film.  Went to see Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.  Loved the 3D.  People seem to either love or hate the film.  We hadn’t read anything about it before – on purpose – we had fun with it once we realised that it was meant to be a sort of continuation of Alice’s story based on the books.  (Spoilers here, so if you haven’t seen it you can stop reading if you want!)

I liked what they did with Alice’s character.  A fantastic role model!  Independent, quirky – I loved her mother’s horror when Alice refuses to wear a corset or stockings because they’re not comfortable – although facing pressures to conform to society’s expectations, Alice grows into a more strong-willed and empowered heroine who chooses her own path.  She refuses both the proper subservient married woman role and the pathetic eccentric spinster role, forging a way for herself without allowing anyone to crush her visions.  Mia Wasikowska did a good job with the role.

Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter were both very good as well, but then both of them usually are.  I enjoyed Johnny Depp’s Mad Hatter – he said in an interview that he played the character as a “mood ring” – and his clothes, skin, hair, personality and accent changed throughout the film to reflect his emotions.

As for the animated characters, I recognised Alan Rickman immediately, Stephen Fry I only recognised halfway through, and I’m sorry to say I didn’t recognise Imelda Staunton at all.  😦  Shame on me.

Kidlet and I were both totally enchanted with the March Hare, and happily exclaimed “Spoon!” to each other all the way home.  Partner was not amused – she thought it was funny enough the first time, but once was quite enough.

And we’re still trying to come up with an answer to…

Why is a raven like a writing desk?

Ideas, anyone?

2 Responses to “Vacation is over”

  1. JuliaA Says:

    16 stitch cables sound really daunting!

    the cowl is lovely.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Thank you. It really wasn’t as scary as it sounds. The only challenge is not letting all those stitches on the cable needle get twisted around. (That only happened once *cough*)

Leave a Reply

