My March swap fix

post # 97

Got my Make-a-scarf swap package today from Lennette in Florida!

Included in the package is Nicole Hindes’ Strangling Vine  Scarf pattern from her blog All Buttoned Up.  This is an RAOK pattern – the designer asks that if you knit this, or even read the pattern, you perform at least one random act of kindness.  I love this idea, and I may well adopt it in the future with a few of my own RAOK patterns!  In the meantime, I will try and do my duty and will post about it here, like I posted during my mitzvah month.

Also in the package: 

  • Some ultra-soft naturallycaron.com Spa yarn in a colour called berry frappe! 
  • Addi natura bamboo knitting needles
  • And some lavender scented Eucalan fine wool wash, the best.

I hope Lennette likes the package I sent her – it hasn’t yet arrived.

Another great swap package!  The addiction beast has been fed…  😀

Back at the ranch, the Central Park Hoodie back and front pieces are blocking, and I’ve started the sleeves.

Kidlet is getting antsy – she really wants to wear it already, and we seem to have skipped spring and moved right into summer in March.  Temperature in the 90s almost all week. Only one really bad day – dust in the air so thick the media was broadcasting warnings to people with respiratory problems to stay indoors. 

This was taken in the middle of the day, and believe it or not, there’s a building and a hill behind that wall.  That’s how bad visibility was.  Yuck.

We’re getting ever  closer to the 100th post, and every comment equals one entry in the chance to win the sock yarn!  (Kidlet posted and said she gets a chance too, but I explained that family members are ineligible, them’s the rules…so she’ll help me with the drawing of the name!) 

 And we move into the weekend…..

22 Responses to “My March swap fix”

  1. Beth Says:

    Dust storm and 90s?! Yikes! I was complaining this morning because the cedar trees are full of pollen and all of us have allergies that are acting up. But at least the temps are only around 60.

    That Spa yarn is a beautiful color!

    • eclecticitee Says:

      April is usually the allergy month here, at least for partner. But the weather’s really crazy.

      I agree about the yarn, yummy name and yummy colour!

  2. knitwonpurltoo Says:

    I live in Middle Earth. Our weather is damp and gray with occasional excitements called sunshine. We won’t have 90’s until June (I hope).

  3. Elaine Says:

    I was in PA this past weekend and there was still 2 feet of snow making the driveway impassible. It feels like we’ll never have 90’s

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I would love to have some snow! Kidlet hasn’t yet seen snow, I suppose I’ll have to take her abroad for that…

  4. Knittingdancer (Ravelry) Says:

    You got a really scarf swap this month. I love the color of the spa yarn and addi needles to boot.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I have lots of addi circulars, both turbo and lace, this is my first pair of bamboo straights!

  5. turtle Says:

    what a great swap goodie package! and i love the roak request , great idea. Had to giggle at the visibility, we are known for our fog here, but been in a dust storm before, not fun! I finished my central park hoodie- sister sweater today (from fall 09 knit scene) Still plannning on knitting the central though as well.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I’ll have to check out the sister pattern, I’m having such a good time with this one.

  6. EJ Says:

    Lucky you – the package looks terrific.

  7. Jersey Jessie Says:

    I’ve never done a swap but I do a lot of swapping (as in bartering) but there there is less of the surprise element.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      I do some bartering, too. But it’s swaps I really love, especially the surprise. They almost always have some kind of theme, but that can range from very specific (like dishcloths or bookmarks) to very general (colours of spring).

  8. JuliaA Says:

    i have some of that spa yarn in the same color–i’m planning on making a little-girl sweater with it. it seems so lovely and potentially drapey.

    • eclecticitee Says:

      It would be perfect for little-people garments, so soft! I’m hoping that it’s as drapey as 100% bamboo but without the stretch.

  9. Katerina Says:

    Your CPH is coming along very nicely – It’s in my cue but I haven’t started it yet. Let us know what you think of the Spa yarn – it looks really soft, and yummy.
    Also – I didn’t’ realize Addi made bamboo needles! I always thought theirs were metal. .. learn something new every day eh?…. are they as smooth as they look?

    • eclecticitee Says:

      Extremely smooth. And although for ages I’ve used only circulars for everything, this is going to get me to use straights again!

  10. Nupur Says:

    A make-a-scarf kit is such a great swap idea!! And the RAOK is an even sweeter idea.

  11. K.M.Jones Says:

    I got that Berry Frappe yarn for the holidays this past year. Isn’t it just LUSCIOUS?

Leave a Reply

