What profession….

I love watching Inside the Actor’s Studio.  It’s a different level of celebrity interview, it’s a televised craft seminar,  students of a craft exploring the stories of those who have succeeded in the craft, while providing entertainment to those who enjoy and/or appreciate  being spectators of the craft.

I think one of the most popular features of the show is the interview at the end,  an adaptation of Bernard Pivot’s interview questions based on the Proust questionnaire.  Not a questionnaire written by Proust, but rather his published answers to a series of questions popular at the end of the 19th century.  It’s always interesting what artists/celebrities have to say in reply.   Everyone I know who watches the show has thought about what s/he would answer if asked those questions, myself included. They are surprisingly revealing.

Two of the ten questions are

  1. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  2. What profession would you not like to do?

The first always makes me wonder what I  would want to add to the long list of occupations and professions I’ve dabbled in over the years, beginning with babysitter and continuing on through – not in chronological order – daycare provider, sales clerk (several times), sales manager, dancer, tour guide, warehouse packer (don’t ask), fast food cook and server, politician, psychologist, speech therapist, crisis hotline counselor,  teacher, high school counselor, school principal, secretary, facilitator, community worker…

Yikes.

So what would I add?

At the risk of sounding ridiculous…actor.  Give this drama queen a stage.  I was a drama geek in high school, I later took acting workshops…but all for my own enjoyment, it wasn’t something I needed to go further with, there were too many other things I wanted to do as well.  Now?  I’d love it.

Or…for many years I seriously considered becoming a rabbi.  (God help us all.)

Or…a detective!  I love puzzles.  I can be nosy.  Actually, anything having to do with forensics fascinates me.  Oh!  A forensic linguist!  Yes!  Or a forensic photographer.

Too many possibilities, that’s the problem here.  And sadly, none of them terribly realistic at this stage.

And the second question?

Well, aside from any kind of bureaucrat?  (omg, that would drive me mad, I would be  screwing things up right and left just to see what happens…)

OK, ok,  a serious answer.  I’ve worked as a psychologist, and loved it.  But I have a friend – also a psychologist – who works in the prison system, counseling and doing “rehabilitation” with sex offenders.  Many of them are rapists.  Many of them are pedophiles.  I truly admire her for doing this work.  There is no way on this earth I could do it.  I honestly think that if that were my job, I  wouldn’t be able to get out of bed in the mornings.

We all have our limits.

Maybe I’ll just chuck the office job and become a taxi driver.  Had a discussion about that with a driver this week.  On the one hand, I really love driving.  I like being behind the wheel, and I’m a good driver.  And I like the idea of every single day being different, you never know what adventures you’ll have and people you’ll meet.  On the other hand, people are crazy.  Many of the people who want rides and most of the other drivers on the road.  Especially around these parts.  Don’t need that stress.  And I suppose as a breadwinner I shouldn’t take a job where you never know if you’ll have work or not on any given day.  Not a lot of security there.     OK, strike this one off the list.

Now I’m waiting to hear your answers!

  1. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  2. What profession would you not like to do?
One Response to “What profession….”

  1. Jennifer Haynes Says:

    I Really like what you have done with your blog!

Leave a Reply

