Purple rules!!

My package in the Purple Rules! swap has arrived!

Astrid sent me some lovely goodies from Reykjavík.

There’s  a book filled with Icelandic lace patterns (luckily she also sent the English translation), 4 skeins of Icelandic lace weight wool in purple and three shades of grey, and 3 skeins of sport weight in purples and cream, a wonderful CD, yummy chocolates and candies, and a card that is also a mitten pattern!

She also knitted me a purple lace stole, which was a special treat.  Isn’t it beautiful?

I don’t even remember when my devotion to purple began.  I do remember my father warning that if I brought any more clothes or shoes home in purple he was going to throw them out…and this was many decades ago!  And I’ve never outgrown it.

Actually, I like most colours.  Bright, muted, doesn’t matter.  I really love rainbows – how fortunate that something I love can also be my political statement. The only colour I really can’t stand is pink.  Maybe because my mom tried to dress me in pink a lot?  Maybe at a very deep level I’m rejecting gender conditioning?  Or maybe I just don’t like pink and that’s it.

In any case, I’ve received my fix for yarn, lace, and purple all at once, and it doesn’t get much better than that.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

