F.C. Day

A.  Frustrating Cushion / Frogged Cover

Partner wanted me to knit a cover for a cushion she uses for her back.  I bought the yarn this week, and tonight I started…well, tonight was my first attempt.

The cushion is a totally weird shape.  It slopes in and bulges out in different directions in different places.  I tried the magic loop cast on tonight, in the hope that I can fit and shape over the top of the cushion like a sock and then continue in the round, increasing and decreasing to match the shape.  That didn’t work, I frogged after about 20 rows – the shaping wasn’t working.  First I frogged back just a few rows and tried adding stitches in some places and decreasing in others, but nope.

Tomorrow I’ll try with a provisional cast on, shape in each direction over the top and then join to knit in the round.  If that doesn’t work I’ll have to come up with something else, so let’s hope it works.

Grrr.

B.  Frantic Cat

We have a large paper lamp shade in the living room.  You know the kind – metal frame in the middle from top to bottom, and round bamboo frame covered with paper.

Well, yesterday I had to change the light bulb, and when I did I saw that the shade had a small tear, so I took it down intending to either fix it or replace it.  In the meantime I left it on the table.  This evening the cat got curious about this odd new toy, managed to get herself halfway inside, then was seized by panic and tried to run.  The wire loop at the bottom of the lamp wedged around her middle, and as she ran the bamboo frame tore off and unwound in a long spiral behind her across the floor and out of the room as she tried to escape.  Terrified kitteh.  She couldn’t get loose, and wouldn’t let anyone near her.  I finally managed to get ahold of her under the dining room table, but the wire frame was really stuck tight, and we couldn’t get it up or down.  Kidlet held her – trying to avoid the claws and teeth and spitting – while I ran and got the wire cutters.  A few snips, a little wire bending,  and kitteh was free.  Poor Nike.  Lampshade now totally destroyed, along with the cat’s nerves. 

Nike got a little extra treat for dinner.  And hopefully she will leave future lampshades alone.  And I shouldn’t leave such interesting things so accessable.      *sigh*

Shabbat shalom.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

