Daily dose of “Awwwww”

Ordered our 2010 calendars today.  OK, so I’m running a bit late this year.  For my desk, I’m sticking with my choice from last year, the Cute Overload Page-a-Day Calendar, advertised as 365 days of impossibly cute photos.  I did consider getting lolcats this time, but decided no.   (My Never-Not-Knitting calendar is going in my room by my workspace…)

For the central wall calendar, I like the family calendars, so we can see what everyone’s doing.  I ordered the Mom’s Family Calendar this year again.

Partner she said she didn’t want the Cute Overload calendar again  – although she loves the dogs and cats, she says there are too many pictures of  rodents for her taste.  That’s ok, she’s basically a dog person who also appreciates cats occasionally.  Kidlet and I are any-animal people.  So partner’s getting the 365 Puppies-A-Year calendar.

Kidlet hasn’t yet decided which she wants this year, so she’ll wait.  If I find an emo kitten calendar for her I can stop looking…

The  calendar isn’t my only daily “aww”.  I check out the Cute Overload site every day, as well as I Can Has Cheezburger?, the Daily Puppy, and the Daily Squee. A good critter-inspired “aww” or “squee” usually makes the day all right.  Then, of course, I move on to my favourite knitting, mystery, tea and miscellaneous sites and blogs.

And speaking of wee beasties, every year around  this time I sign up for 12 donations (one per month) to the local animal protection organisation, Let the Animals Live.   Renewed my donation today.

Until one has loved an animal, a part of one’s soul remains unawakened. ~ Anatole France

The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated. ~ Mohandas Gandhi

Lots of people talk to animals…. Not very many listen, though…. That’s the problem. ~ Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Mankind’s true moral test, its fundamental test (which lies deeply buried from view), consists of its attitude towards those who are at its mercy: animals.  ~ Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

I don’t believe in the concept of hell, but if I did I would think of it as filled with people who were cruel to animals. ~ Gary Larson

I am in favor of animal rights as well as human rights. That is the way of a whole human being. ~ Abraham Lincoln

If you have men who will exclude any of God’s creatures from the shelter of compassion and pity, you will have men who will deal likewise with their fellow men. ~ St. Francis of Assisi

The Animals of the planet are in desperate peril. Without free animal life I believe we will lose the spiritual equivalent of oxygen. ~ Alice Walker

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

