My online radio shows

Today‘s subject is a site I’ve become acquainted with recently that perhaps others may find interesting as well.  (It could be that most people are already familiar with it, and I’m way late to the party, in which case everyone can have a good laugh and carry on.)

I’m talking about BlogTalkRadio.    A social radio network on the web.  BlogTalkRadio allows anyone, anywhere, the ability to host a live, internet talk radio show, simply by using a telephone and a computer.    You can register as a listener, become a host and start your own talk show, upgrade to business services, whatever floats your boat and meets your needs.  I’m not a podcast newbie, of course, but this is one of the bigger networks I’ve seen.

Me, I listen.  (Well, I usually listen and knit.)   I subscribe to four shows, although I can listen to any show I want to.  Fiber ‘Tudes (Moms and Fiber Friends who Knit with Attitude) – lots about lace, I love it,   the knitgrrlshow  (only archives, nothing new),  SistersTalk Radio, and Murder She Writes, hosted by Sylvia Dickey Smith, a Sister in Crime, who authors the Sidra Smart mystery series.  I found BlogTalkRadio through this last show, when one of the authors I like posted on facebook that she would be interviewed on the show.  (Thanks, Beth!)     Oh,  I also love the FlyLady Channel – what a hoot!

I’ve had lots of technical trouble logging on during the shows during real-time, but I’ve found that I can easily listen to the playback later.   The trouble could be my own ignorance with the technical aspects of the whole thing, or not, but I haven’t tried to listen enough during real-time (since it’s usually middle-of-the-night time for me) to figure that out.  I can also download the shows to my MP3 player, for listening whenever I want – good for the long commute to or from work.  I haven’t spent much time in the forum area of the site, although I’ve browsed through some of the discussions.

Some of the interviews I’ve enjoyed on Murder She Writes:  Betty Webb, Clea Simon, Beth Groundwater, Alina Adams, Radine Nehring, Joanna Campbell Slan, Glynn Marsh Alam, and more.  (If you’re a mystery nut like me, you’ll know these names.)

I find it satisfyingly quirky that the computer is reconnecting us to radio.  But I like it.

I really do have to figure out this listening in real-time, though……next time I’m up when one of my shows airs at 1am….

One Response to “My online radio shows”

  1. Tweets that mention My online radio shows « Eclecticitee -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by alan l levy, Suzanne Ashley. Suzanne Ashley said: RT @alanllevy: A nice little blog pos ton internet radio http://bit.ly/8D8X9M BTR is fabulous!!! […]

Leave a Reply

