Mornings

Mornings.

I don’t do well with mornings.  I would like mornings much better if they started later.

Most people do not consider dawn to be an attractive experience – unless they are still up.  ~ Ellen Goodman

When I was much younger, school-age,  it was near impossible to get me out of bed.  I remember my father sitting on the edge of my bed for at least half an hour every morning, talking me into a state of awareness.  He would tell me someone has to get up, and I would mumble at him to leave me their address so I could send a sympathy card.  Today in hindsight I marvel at his patience.

No matter how big or soft or warm your bed is, you still have to get out of it. ~ Grace Slick

I used to say I wake up about an hour after I get up.  I used to bounce off the furniture and walls a lot.   And I still don’t understand why school always had chorus practice at 7am, when I could barely manage a croak.

Early morning cheerfulness can be extremely obnoxious.  ~ William Feather

When I went off on my own, into the world of university dorm life and later apartment life, I discovered that it was not to my advantage to register for any class that began before 10am, because I would miss the majority of lessons and have to scramble to catch up with the material.  Alarm clocks were not my friends.  When I had something extremely important early in the morning, I simply would not go to sleep the night before.

There is no hope for a civilization which starts each day to the sound of an alarm clock.  ~ Author Unknown

As I grew older, I had to hold down jobs.  I learned to get myself in gear earlier.  I would make it to work, often with sleep still clinging to me like a blanket.

The average, healthy, well-adjusted adult gets up at seven-thirty in the morning feeling just plain terrible.  ~ Jean Kerr

At times I shared my life with morning-type people.  The kind who jump out of bed at 6am singing out “Good morning, world!”  They were lucky that the closest thing I had handy to throw at them was a pillow.

If people were meant to pop out of bed, we’d all sleep in toasters.  ~ Jim Davis

When I became a parent, first to pets and then to my daughter, I took the responsibility seriously and learned to function better in the morning.  Not necessarily cheerfully, but better.  Others were dependent on me.  I met life’s challenge.

There is no snooze button on a cat who wants breakfast.  ~ Author Unknown

OK, as I aged I could occasionally see the beauty in mornings.  The freshness of a new start.  The special light that bathes everything.  I began an exercise regimen in the mornings before my shower and going to work, and felt wonderful.  I found a sort of peace in the morning.

The sun has not caught me in bed in fifty years.  ~ Thomas Jefferson

Since menopause, I can manage on much less sleep.  Which is fortunate, since now I have to get up at 5am and be out the door by 6 to be at work by 7:30.  No time for exercise, no time for reflection, just forcing myself out of my warm bed and trying not to forget anything.  And all the while struggling to get my teenager out of her bed.  Which is near impossible.   The cycle of life.  Hm.

I have a “carpe diem” mug and, truthfully, at six in the morning the words do not make me want to seize the day.  They make me want to slap a dead poet.  ~ Joanne Sherman

Mornings.  One interesting observation.  I write much better in the morning than in the evening.  Creative juices flow more easily.  Too bad my so-called “free” time is in the evenings, and if I want to write I have to steal time from work.  Or at least jot down ideas to try to put into some kind of semblance later.

With all my bellyaching, the world would be a much sadder place without the morning.  I would just be happier greeting it occasionally, leisurely, appreciatively.

Miracles keep happening….the sun rose in the east today.  ~ Joan Baez

2 Responses to “Mornings”

  1. kory white Says:

    What’s a morning?

Leave a Reply

